Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and the filling consistency was like jelly and would not harden. In addition, the streusel pretty much tasted of flour, and thats all. Needed more cooking time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Remspa13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I tried this for Thanksgiving. It was pretty good but not great. Almost had too much going on. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
LOVE THIS PIE! It's nice to have something different from the traditional pie. I even made one after Thanksgiving because I hadn't had enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chetyre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I don't really like Pumpkin Pie, but this was really good! I'm a novice at baking, and this was an easy recipe to make. It got rave reviews over Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made two of these, one for Thanksgiving dinner, one for the freezer. Everyone just love it. It's a nice little change from plain pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Well, I made this one yesterday. We all love pumpkin and love apple butter, so I was anxious to try this one out. Basically, I'd say don't bother. It cooks up just fine, of course, but I was hoping for more apple-y flavor. All the apple butter added was the spices, which you could easily do with a normal pumpkin pie recipe. The ONLY thing worthwhile in this recipe was the crumble topping on the pie. Now, I use a topping like that on all my muffins, but never tried it on a pie. It is very good, and I'll do that part again. But for the base of the pie - nahhhhhhh. Too many ingredients for too little results! I was hoping for a more pronounced apple butter taste in there. So, if you hate your own pumpkin pie recipe, then try this one - otherwise, this will leave you with a partial can of pumpkin, an open can of evaporated milk, and a pie that you'll wonder why you bothered.... sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This recipe was great, although I replaced the pecans with chopped golden delicious apples. As, I have family members allergic to cooked pecans. It also brought out the apple flavor making a great combo of pumkin and apple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I do a lot of baking & wanted to try something new. I was excited to find this recipe here. I made it for Thanksgiving and I was really disappointed with it. I followed the recipe to a "t" & it was nothing more than ok to me. It looked beautiful, but it tasted bland. The filling was blah and the topping wasn't very sweet. I won't be making this again...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttsmom9103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was the first pumpkin pie I've ever made. I used apple butter from a local festival and it was absolutely mouth watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. J. Gilmour
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Like so many others, I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out wonderful! I used homemade "All Day Apple Butter" and the "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" from this site. Being a traditional pumpkin pie lover, I was pleased to taste so much of the pumpkin flavor in this pie, even though half of the pumpkin is replaced with apple butter. The end result was a spiced complex flavor that really complemented the dinner feast. I agree with another reviewer that, while nice, the streusel topping does not make or break this pie and should be considered optional. This recipe is definitely a keeper and I plan on making this for the other half of the family on Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States