Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I've never been a fan of the taste and texture of traditional pumpkin pie. But, my family loves them so I always end up making a few around the holidays. I tried this pie and it's the only pumpkin pie recipe I have liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APT1171

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This pie was very bland. I can't figure out what it needs. Vanilla, cream cheese, sweet condensed milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was delicious. It went over very well at our Thanksgiving. A great twist on pumpkin pie and especially good way of using up any excess apple butter you might have. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustAGoodOlBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I personally don't eat pumpkin but all the family does. I started Making this pie several years ago. I've read so many of the reviews on here so I thought I'd give mine. People who like it, love it. Other people don't. This pie is different than traditional in flavor so of course not everyone is going to like it. I always have to make more than one because certain people request it. I've made 8 for one thanksgiving before. So I recommend you at least try the pie and form your own opinion. I also agree with other users. I think you should make the pie as the recipe states if you are going to review. The pie is a good pie. There is nothing wrong with it. Some people's tastes just don't care for it but that doesn't mean it's not worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly. I expected to taste apple and pumpkin. We all thought (6 of us) that it tasted like a bland pumpkin pie. I made this because of all the positive reviews. I don't get it. And the streusel topping adds nothing, better off without it. Two out of six said they'd eat it again but I won't make this a second time. I wonder if it's because I used Smucker's Apple Butter although no brand was specified in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shortcake121
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This recipe is definitely a keeper. I have been the designated pumpkin pie maker in my family for about 10 years now, and everyone loved the apple butter twist last time. (My grandfather now insists I make it this way every time!) Personally I think I will leave out the nuts and streusel topping this year, and let the pie speak for itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessie
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great recipe and I love the topping! The only thing I would even consider changing would be to next time add just a little more brown sugar to make the pie a little sweeter. This could be because the apple butter I made is sweet but not too sweet and is a little tart, so if you're using store bought apple butter you probably wouldn't need to add any extra sugar! You can taste both the apple and pumpkin, but neither is overwhelming. My boyfriend said it was phenomenal! Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is by far my favorite autumn dessert! I followe the recipe exactly (though walnuts can be substituted for pecans in a pinch). I first tasted this pie at a potluck, and for weeks I searched websites and cookbooks, and I finally found it. The search was well worth the wait, as I plan on making Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie a tradition for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kestrelcall27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
3.5 Stars: This was a good way to use up apple butter, but most of the family thought it may as well be pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I love this recipe! I make this pie every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Even my husband, who doesn't care for pumpkin pie loves this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Vera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States