Apple Butter Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
THIS WAS SPECTACULAR!!!!!! Followed the recommendations of other reviewers and baked a ~3 lbs tenderloin for about 1/2 hour, then poured off about 1/2 of the apple juice/cider mixture (I used cider, as it was what I had), covered the tenderloin with the apple butter mixture, and baked for about another 1:15. Absolutely brilliant, and the leftover juice makes a lovely gravy when mixed with the drippings, and a bit of cornstarch- just be sure to mix it at the last minute!!!! My picky eaters devoured it, and the leftovers were still moist after reheating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very tender and moist. Next time I will be more generous with the apple butter mixture. The house smelled wonderful. Thanks for the formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was absolutely melt in your mouth delicious! We loved it! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Mine turned out a bit too dry, but that was my fault for letting it cook too long. Some had mentioned letting it slow cook in a crock pot for 6, 7 & even 8 hrs. When I checked mine at 5 hrs it was already 180 degrees. Check at about 4 hrs or U will be sad. The overall taste was really good. Made gravey from the bottom liquid as others mentioned, so was able to mask the dryness a little. I will make it again, but will start checking the internal heat a lot sooner. Served with a salad and Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic (very good) from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George DuPuie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I thought this was delicious, and actually it was better than I expected it to be. I halved it and used one pork tenderloin that I baked until it was 170 degrees. It was tender and delicious. Before I cut the pork I scraped the apple butter off it and combined it with the aple juice, added some corn starch and water, and boiled it in a saucepan. I poured some sauce over the meat, and also put some sauce on baked sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made this in my slow cooker, We loved the apple butter sauce, going in my keep box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
A correction to previous reviews: the recipe calls for pork loin, not pork tenderloin. The tenderloin is a thin round muscle that is a part, not the whole, of the loin. It cooks much faster than a whole loin. The time given may still be too long for a loin; the best way to time your roast is using a meat thermometer - safe temperature for pork has just been lowered to 145 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My family loved this! As previously noted by other reviewers, the cook time is WAY too long for a pork loin (no, not a tenderloin!). I simply used a meat thermometer to get the loin the the temp I was comfortable and then took it out to let it rest. I then made a gravy from the pan juices. I will definitely make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Perfect Fall meal. I served with butternut squash and it is really delicious. I sliced an apple and added it also some flour at the end to make a thicker gravy. I also used a slowcooker as other readers suggested. Made for a perfect pork meal. Thank UMich97!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States