Apple Butter Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This dish was delicious! My fiancé (who eats like a bird) had four helpings! I followed everyone else's suggestions and baked the pork for about an hour and a half in the oven. It was so tender and juicy. We both loved the topping so I think next time I will make a little extra and drizzle it on each individual slice. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
The error is with the cooks who substituted the called-for boneless pork loin with pork TENDERloin, which is a completely different cut of meat that will cook much faster than a pork loin. The tenderloin is a thinner, much leaner cut, whereas the pork loin, aka pork center loin roast or center cut pork loin roast, is at least 2-3 times thicker, has fat on it, and is a little tougher than the tenderloin. Hence the recipe's direction to cook for the additional 2 hours ***OR*** until fork-tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was amazing. I had apple butter and didn't know what to do with it. This turned out great with homemade mashed potatoes and acorn squash. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Awesome & easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Kids and husband love AppleButter Pork night. Easy enough to do on school night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this for my family and in laws and they just loved it! They said it was the best pork they ever had. I had to make a change because I didn't have apple butter. I sliced 8 small apples and lined the pork with those. I used butter in place of the apple butter. It still turned out amazing despite my lacking ingredients. We are making this again tomorrow! Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Moist and delicious! I used Costco's pork loin and apple sauce left on the entire cooking time. Great with au gratin potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Made this and we definitely enjoyed it. I used a 2.3 lb pork loin roast, and followed Valerie's Kitchen's suggestions. I didn't use season salt (that seemed weird to me), just rubbed with salt and pepper. Cooked it for 30 mins, then took out some juice, poured the apple butter mixture over it, and cooked it for 45 mins more. It wasn't quite to safe temperature, so I wound up cooking it about 25 mins more. It nearly overcooked, but thankfully I took it out before it could be truly overcooked. It had a lovely, sweet, succulent flavor and my husband and sister loved it! Will definitely save, and adjust cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laliad5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I did change the time as other reviewers suggested: 20-30/pound. I served with cooked apples, potatoes, and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
As long as the pork stays covered, or nearly so, this recipe turns out good but not great. I found it somewhat bland but made it occasionally anyway. (I always leave out the brown sugar). I finally read the comments and realized that the best bit was what I was throwing away! You absolutely have to make gravy from the cider drippings. I used about a tablespoon of cornstarch to make the gravy. Excellent on mashed potatoes. The meal went from three stars to five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States