Apple Butter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Great recipe. Very easy. My son won a blue ribbon last year when he used it for a 4-H project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUJUHOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This is the best tasting applebutter I have ever tasted! I usually make up a big batch of this and place in canning jars for the perfect christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I was running low on my favorite purchased apple butter, but it was locally made from a town 8 hours away, too far to pick up at my local store. I saw that the ingredients were the same in this recipe, so I went for it. I was looking for a recipe with applesauce, since my baby decided he was no longer going to eat baby food, so I had a freezer full of applesauce to use up. I am so glad this recipe was posted here! All the ingredients are readily available in any cook's kitchen. The only problem I had was that the casserole dish I used was too small, and the apple butter cooked out and splattered all over my oven. Next time, I may try someone else's recipe suggestion and put it in the crock pot all day. This recipe makes your house smell AWESOME! I tried some on a ritz cracker and I almost couldn't stop eating it. I look forward to making this recipe again, possibly for Christmas gifts! I didn't think I liked apple butter, but after making and tasting this recipe, I am convinced that this apple butter is quite possibly the best fall food ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
No, it doesn't taste like homemade, but with the main ingredient being a conveniece product, I didn't expect it to. That stated, this is absolutely delicious!! Ten stars! My whole family (including 9-yr-old Mr Finicky) loved it! I was trying to use up a large amount of leftover applesauce. Looks like I need to go get more now. Simple to prepare, no exotic ingredients, easy to store, yummy to eat - perfect!! Oh, and I took the advice of a previous reviewer and stirred every 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I don't know what apple butter is supposed to taste, for I've never had it before, but this surely is a good healthy spread. What is more, it only takes minutes to prepare. I'm sure the ones made in a slow cooker would taste even better, but I don't have one, and this is a great alternative. Gotta give it a try. P.S.: I stirred it every 30 minutes while baking, but next time, I'll do it every 45-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I'm not an apple butter aficionado or anything, so I don't know if this is great apple butter or not. It gets 5 stars from me, though, because it was easy to make and tasted good on my Apple Butter Pork (another recipe on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nanuet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Excellent! Just like made fresh in New York!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was great - I've never had apple butter before but will definitely be making it again. I cut the recipe in half and it made a great hostess gift for Thanksgiving, with a little left over for home! Thanks, I'll make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Yum! I had to cook this a little longer, but I was using homemade applesauce, so it might have been a little more watery. Either way, this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made this apple butter and gave as a simple gift for people who helped with my parents 50th wedding anniversary. Wonderful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States