Apple Butter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This is the best tasting applebutter I have ever tasted! I usually make up a big batch of this and place in canning jars for the perfect christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Schauer Sottosanti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
No, it doesn't taste like homemade, but with the main ingredient being a conveniece product, I didn't expect it to. That stated, this is absolutely delicious!! Ten stars! My whole family (including 9-yr-old Mr Finicky) loved it! I was trying to use up a large amount of leftover applesauce. Looks like I need to go get more now. Simple to prepare, no exotic ingredients, easy to store, yummy to eat - perfect!! Oh, and I took the advice of a previous reviewer and stirred every 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Great recipe. Very easy. My son won a blue ribbon last year when he used it for a 4-H project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUJUHOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I don't know what apple butter is supposed to taste, for I've never had it before, but this surely is a good healthy spread. What is more, it only takes minutes to prepare. I'm sure the ones made in a slow cooker would taste even better, but I don't have one, and this is a great alternative. Gotta give it a try. P.S.: I stirred it every 30 minutes while baking, but next time, I'll do it every 45-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I was running low on my favorite purchased apple butter, but it was locally made from a town 8 hours away, too far to pick up at my local store. I saw that the ingredients were the same in this recipe, so I went for it. I was looking for a recipe with applesauce, since my baby decided he was no longer going to eat baby food, so I had a freezer full of applesauce to use up. I am so glad this recipe was posted here! All the ingredients are readily available in any cook's kitchen. The only problem I had was that the casserole dish I used was too small, and the apple butter cooked out and splattered all over my oven. Next time, I may try someone else's recipe suggestion and put it in the crock pot all day. This recipe makes your house smell AWESOME! I tried some on a ritz cracker and I almost couldn't stop eating it. I look forward to making this recipe again, possibly for Christmas gifts! I didn't think I liked apple butter, but after making and tasting this recipe, I am convinced that this apple butter is quite possibly the best fall food ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I'm not an apple butter aficionado or anything, so I don't know if this is great apple butter or not. It gets 5 stars from me, though, because it was easy to make and tasted good on my Apple Butter Pork (another recipe on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nanuet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Excellent! Just like made fresh in New York!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was great - I've never had apple butter before but will definitely be making it again. I cut the recipe in half and it made a great hostess gift for Thanksgiving, with a little left over for home! Thanks, I'll make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Yum! I had to cook this a little longer, but I was using homemade applesauce, so it might have been a little more watery. Either way, this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made this apple butter and gave as a simple gift for people who helped with my parents 50th wedding anniversary. Wonderful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States