Apple Butter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This is the best tasting applebutter I have ever tasted! I usually make up a big batch of this and place in canning jars for the perfect christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Very easy and worth the wait it takes to cook. Keeps well too. Lite alternative to butter or cream cheese, and not like jelly at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I don't know what apple butter is supposed to taste, for I've never had it before, but this surely is a good healthy spread. What is more, it only takes minutes to prepare. I'm sure the ones made in a slow cooker would taste even better, but I don't have one, and this is a great alternative. Gotta give it a try. P.S.: I stirred it every 30 minutes while baking, but next time, I'll do it every 45-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
No, it doesn't taste like homemade, but with the main ingredient being a conveniece product, I didn't expect it to. That stated, this is absolutely delicious!! Ten stars! My whole family (including 9-yr-old Mr Finicky) loved it! I was trying to use up a large amount of leftover applesauce. Looks like I need to go get more now. Simple to prepare, no exotic ingredients, easy to store, yummy to eat - perfect!! Oh, and I took the advice of a previous reviewer and stirred every 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
WOW! This is really, really good and so easy! I didn't change a thing except I cooked it uncovered in my slow cooker (on high). Made the house smell amazing! I may never buy apple butter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I made this with my daughter's preschool class. Loved the fact that you baked it. I cooked down red delicious apples for it. I doubled the apple portion of the recipe and it seened like I should have cut down on the vinegar. Great recipe though. Teh house smelt great while it was cooking and had a great color when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I omitted the cloves as I didn't have them. I also didn't have vinegar, so I used bottled lemon juice instead. Definitely need to cut down on the sugar by at least 3/4 of a cup, but otherwise nearly perfect. You can tell the texture is a little 'off' from your normally smooth apple butter, but the taste is beyond amazing. I jarred and froze some for later. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My husband loved this recipe. I will be making another batch today. I did make some changes. I use less sweetener and I also used 1/2 splenda brown sugar and 1/2 regular brown sugar. This time, I'm going to try using splenda only as the sweetener since our family has a lot of diabetics. This will be a welcome additon to my basket of homemade birthday/christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Dumpling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I was running low on my favorite purchased apple butter, but it was locally made from a town 8 hours away, too far to pick up at my local store. I saw that the ingredients were the same in this recipe, so I went for it. I was looking for a recipe with applesauce, since my baby decided he was no longer going to eat baby food, so I had a freezer full of applesauce to use up. I am so glad this recipe was posted here! All the ingredients are readily available in any cook's kitchen. The only problem I had was that the casserole dish I used was too small, and the apple butter cooked out and splattered all over my oven. Next time, I may try someone else's recipe suggestion and put it in the crock pot all day. This recipe makes your house smell AWESOME! I tried some on a ritz cracker and I almost couldn't stop eating it. I look forward to making this recipe again, possibly for Christmas gifts! I didn't think I liked apple butter, but after making and tasting this recipe, I am convinced that this apple butter is quite possibly the best fall food ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Great recipe. Very easy. My son won a blue ribbon last year when he used it for a 4-H project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUJUHOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States