Apple Butter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is really easy and really good. I cut the recipe in half and add 3/4 cup of pumpkin for the fall, making an Apple Pumpkin Butter. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
No, it doesn't taste like homemade, but with the main ingredient being a conveniece product, I didn't expect it to. That stated, this is absolutely delicious!! Ten stars! My whole family (including 9-yr-old Mr Finicky) loved it! I was trying to use up a large amount of leftover applesauce. Looks like I need to go get more now. Simple to prepare, no exotic ingredients, easy to store, yummy to eat - perfect!! Oh, and I took the advice of a previous reviewer and stirred every 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Excellent! Just like made fresh in New York!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I'm not an apple butter aficionado or anything, so I don't know if this is great apple butter or not. It gets 5 stars from me, though, because it was easy to make and tasted good on my Apple Butter Pork (another recipe on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nanuet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I was running low on my favorite purchased apple butter, but it was locally made from a town 8 hours away, too far to pick up at my local store. I saw that the ingredients were the same in this recipe, so I went for it. I was looking for a recipe with applesauce, since my baby decided he was no longer going to eat baby food, so I had a freezer full of applesauce to use up. I am so glad this recipe was posted here! All the ingredients are readily available in any cook's kitchen. The only problem I had was that the casserole dish I used was too small, and the apple butter cooked out and splattered all over my oven. Next time, I may try someone else's recipe suggestion and put it in the crock pot all day. This recipe makes your house smell AWESOME! I tried some on a ritz cracker and I almost couldn't stop eating it. I look forward to making this recipe again, possibly for Christmas gifts! I didn't think I liked apple butter, but after making and tasting this recipe, I am convinced that this apple butter is quite possibly the best fall food ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I made this with my daughter's preschool class. Loved the fact that you baked it. I cooked down red delicious apples for it. I doubled the apple portion of the recipe and it seened like I should have cut down on the vinegar. Great recipe though. Teh house smelt great while it was cooking and had a great color when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This is the best tasting applebutter I have ever tasted! I usually make up a big batch of this and place in canning jars for the perfect christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Schauer Sottosanti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I don't know what apple butter is supposed to taste, for I've never had it before, but this surely is a good healthy spread. What is more, it only takes minutes to prepare. I'm sure the ones made in a slow cooker would taste even better, but I don't have one, and this is a great alternative. Gotta give it a try. P.S.: I stirred it every 30 minutes while baking, but next time, I'll do it every 45-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Great recipe. Very easy. My son won a blue ribbon last year when he used it for a 4-H project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This is good for a quick recipe for gift giving but nothing can beat the old fashioned way for apple butter by cooking the apples for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States