Apple Butter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is really easy and really good. I cut the recipe in half and add 3/4 cup of pumpkin for the fall, making an Apple Pumpkin Butter. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
No, it doesn't taste like homemade, but with the main ingredient being a conveniece product, I didn't expect it to. That stated, this is absolutely delicious!! Ten stars! My whole family (including 9-yr-old Mr Finicky) loved it! I was trying to use up a large amount of leftover applesauce. Looks like I need to go get more now. Simple to prepare, no exotic ingredients, easy to store, yummy to eat - perfect!! Oh, and I took the advice of a previous reviewer and stirred every 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Excellent! Just like made fresh in New York!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I'm not an apple butter aficionado or anything, so I don't know if this is great apple butter or not. It gets 5 stars from me, though, because it was easy to make and tasted good on my Apple Butter Pork (another recipe on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nanuet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I was running low on my favorite purchased apple butter, but it was locally made from a town 8 hours away, too far to pick up at my local store. I saw that the ingredients were the same in this recipe, so I went for it. I was looking for a recipe with applesauce, since my baby decided he was no longer going to eat baby food, so I had a freezer full of applesauce to use up. I am so glad this recipe was posted here! All the ingredients are readily available in any cook's kitchen. The only problem I had was that the casserole dish I used was too small, and the apple butter cooked out and splattered all over my oven. Next time, I may try someone else's recipe suggestion and put it in the crock pot all day. This recipe makes your house smell AWESOME! I tried some on a ritz cracker and I almost couldn't stop eating it. I look forward to making this recipe again, possibly for Christmas gifts! I didn't think I liked apple butter, but after making and tasting this recipe, I am convinced that this apple butter is quite possibly the best fall food ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I made this with my daughter's preschool class. Loved the fact that you baked it. I cooked down red delicious apples for it. I doubled the apple portion of the recipe and it seened like I should have cut down on the vinegar. Great recipe though. Teh house smelt great while it was cooking and had a great color when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This is the best tasting applebutter I have ever tasted! I usually make up a big batch of this and place in canning jars for the perfect christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Schauer Sottosanti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I don't know what apple butter is supposed to taste, for I've never had it before, but this surely is a good healthy spread. What is more, it only takes minutes to prepare. I'm sure the ones made in a slow cooker would taste even better, but I don't have one, and this is a great alternative. Gotta give it a try. P.S.: I stirred it every 30 minutes while baking, but next time, I'll do it every 45-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Great recipe. Very easy. My son won a blue ribbon last year when he used it for a 4-H project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUJUHOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This is good for a quick recipe for gift giving but nothing can beat the old fashioned way for apple butter by cooking the apples for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States