Apple Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I made these with pumpkin instead of apple butter. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Delicious. Soft, tender cake, nicely spiced, quick and easy to whip up. I was a little leery of just throwing all the ingredients in together and beating as directed, but there was no problem. Nice, as it makes for easier cleanup. I followed this recipe but used half whole wheat flour and pumpkin butter along with pumpkin pie spice. I also left out the raisins. These truly don't need the glaze, but they are much prettier with it, so I just drizzled it on lightly. Thank you for sharing a great little recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very good! For my taste I would add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Absolutely DELICIOUS! I omitted the raisins and added 1/4 tsp salt. The icing drizzled all over the top added a perfect touch of sweetness. I loved how they were sooo soft and flavorful. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made a ton of apple butter and needed a way to use some of it. This is a very simple and tasty dessert. It's not too sweet and is perfect for fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These are delicious, but I made a few adjustments that I think help with issues others have pointed out. I used a whole cup of apple butter to make them moister and this worked well. They don't crumble. I also eliminated the white sugar and substituted 1/2 of the white flour with wheat flour. I didn't have apple pie spice so I used all spice. They turned out like a thin moist cake - delicious for a breakfast splurge. Against the reviews I made the glaze - DON'T. It does make them way too sweet. That's why I gave them four stars. Overall, a delicious, easy alternative to a chocolate dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Like an apple cinnamon brownie - delicious and perfect for fall! I tried it with diced granny smith apple and cream cheese frosting. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made this exactly as above with 2 exception I added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon instead of apple spice just because my husband doesn't really care for apple spice and these turned out wonderful I also added 1/2 cup of walnuts because we love walnuts in everything we make. These are great very very good I made one batch with frosting and one without and everyone liked them much better without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
These were awesoome! I used a 9X9 instead of 13X9 and they came out more cake like. I also used choppped apples instead of raisins, making another batch next week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommeern

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Concur with the rest of the reviews that they were crumbly which was unfortunate....hopefully baking them longer will be the solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States