Apple Butter Anniversary Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This recipe is sooooo awesome! My hubby has celiac disease, so I used GF cake mix and it still came out as one of the best cakes EVER! And I will double the filling next time, it's that good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
A little involved but if you're in the mood to spend some time in the kitchen, the results are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This cake was absolutely delicious! I used my homemade apple butter and it was so good and moist. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Sandi R.
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Positively delicious, & REALLY really moist without being at all dense. I used my own apple pie filling that I had left over from making fried apple pies & also my own homemade applebutter. I thawed the Coolwhip 1st as suggested by another review & used French Vanilla pudding mix. I didn't realize I was out of crushed pineapple at home so I shredded one apple and added to the icing. I would LOVE to try it with the pineapple tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
OMG, this cake is SO good! I baked the cake in 2 round pans instead of cutting one cake in half. I had home made Apple Butter that a family member bought for me while out of town that I needed to use and this was awesome! Its SUPER moist, even after I left out an egg by mistake. Im making it again for my potluck at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
If you don't thaw the whipped topping, it doesn't allow it to get fluffy. It's a runny mess. Next time, I will use THAWED whipped topping for the icing. As is it's a drippy, sloppy mess. It tastes wonderful, but it's for my daughter birthday and i don't even want the thing in any pictures! So five starts for flavor, three stars for directions and appearance. And yes, double the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was AWESOME. I agree with the others about doubling the filling. I doubled the filling in case I needed extra. I am glad I did, because I used it all. The frosting would not stick to the cake. I decided to keep the frosing in the refrigerator and use it as a topping. I think it worked out better this way, because I don't like putting cakes in the refrigerator. I think refrigerating cakes dries them out. The cake was super moist! I baked it for 50 minutes, and that was almost too long. The edges were a little dark. Overall, it was great. Tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I made this cake last week for a dinner party and everyone loved it. I had to agree with the previous reviewer to double the filling. The one thing I would do different is to try a different frosting. Although the flavor was good, I didn't like the presentation or how it held up. I think that this cake would be wonderful with a cream cheese frosting. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Delicious! This is already a family favorite and I only made it once. I made the cake as directed, except I used homemade apple butter. Other slight changes I made were: 1. I thought the cake was better baked a day ahead as it was easier to cut and it gave it some time for the flavors to blend. 2. I also didn't need to mark out the sides with toothpicks as my pan left and indentation in the cake that was easy to follow with the knife. 3. I would suggest doubling the filling because the amount indicated only provided a very thin layer. 4. In the frosting I reduced the pineapple to 2 oz. I am glad I did or I would have had some left over and it may not have stuck to the cake as well. Very good, very moist and a crowd pleaser. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States