Apple Butter Anniversary Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This recipe is sooooo awesome! My hubby has celiac disease, so I used GF cake mix and it still came out as one of the best cakes EVER! And I will double the filling next time, it's that good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
A little involved but if you're in the mood to spend some time in the kitchen, the results are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This cake was absolutely delicious! I used my homemade apple butter and it was so good and moist. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Sandi R.
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Positively delicious, & REALLY really moist without being at all dense. I used my own apple pie filling that I had left over from making fried apple pies & also my own homemade applebutter. I thawed the Coolwhip 1st as suggested by another review & used French Vanilla pudding mix. I didn't realize I was out of crushed pineapple at home so I shredded one apple and added to the icing. I would LOVE to try it with the pineapple tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
OMG, this cake is SO good! I baked the cake in 2 round pans instead of cutting one cake in half. I had home made Apple Butter that a family member bought for me while out of town that I needed to use and this was awesome! Its SUPER moist, even after I left out an egg by mistake. Im making it again for my potluck at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
If you don't thaw the whipped topping, it doesn't allow it to get fluffy. It's a runny mess. Next time, I will use THAWED whipped topping for the icing. As is it's a drippy, sloppy mess. It tastes wonderful, but it's for my daughter birthday and i don't even want the thing in any pictures! So five starts for flavor, three stars for directions and appearance. And yes, double the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was AWESOME. I agree with the others about doubling the filling. I doubled the filling in case I needed extra. I am glad I did, because I used it all. The frosting would not stick to the cake. I decided to keep the frosing in the refrigerator and use it as a topping. I think it worked out better this way, because I don't like putting cakes in the refrigerator. I think refrigerating cakes dries them out. The cake was super moist! I baked it for 50 minutes, and that was almost too long. The edges were a little dark. Overall, it was great. Tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I made this cake last week for a dinner party and everyone loved it. I had to agree with the previous reviewer to double the filling. The one thing I would do different is to try a different frosting. Although the flavor was good, I didn't like the presentation or how it held up. I think that this cake would be wonderful with a cream cheese frosting. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Delicious! This is already a family favorite and I only made it once. I made the cake as directed, except I used homemade apple butter. Other slight changes I made were: 1. I thought the cake was better baked a day ahead as it was easier to cut and it gave it some time for the flavors to blend. 2. I also didn't need to mark out the sides with toothpicks as my pan left and indentation in the cake that was easy to follow with the knife. 3. I would suggest doubling the filling because the amount indicated only provided a very thin layer. 4. In the frosting I reduced the pineapple to 2 oz. I am glad I did or I would have had some left over and it may not have stuck to the cake as well. Very good, very moist and a crowd pleaser. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States