Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
We thought this was great! But I made a lot of changes. 1: Only 1 cup of white sugar is PLENTY. 2: Reduce oil to 1/2 cup. 3: I changed the orange juice to soured milk because I don't care for citrus flavour in desserts. I also increased it to 1/2 cup since I reduced the oil. 4: I poured caramel - 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 tablespoons cream, bring to boil (thank you kfcooke!) over warm cake. 5: I used 3 cups of apples and mixed them through cake batter. 6: I used a 9x13 pan instead of a bundt since so many people said their cakes had burned outsides and runny insides. It baked in 40 minutes and was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
okay, a breakfast cake for sure. would I make this again..... Probably not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JURADO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I would give more then 5 stars..if possible! Moist and delicious. Coated pan with cooking spray then powdered sugar; used more cinnamon and added pumpkin spice to the apples; used granny smith and red delicious apples chopped small and folded into the batter; all cinnamon applesauce(all I had) in place of the oil; added cinnamon extract in addition to the vanilla; and finnaly - made a streudel topping and placed a layer in the middle then a layer on top...didn't have any problems with over baking at time specified in recipe!! Made for moms to eat at playdate and everyone LOVED it!! Thanks for sharing the recipe and numerous reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Yummy!! Made this to take to work, no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I used a nonstick bundt pan, checked on the cake at about 40 minutes and it was already burned. Had to cover with foil until the center finished baking. I trimmed the burned bits and nobody noticed. People seemed to like it, and it was pretty good considering how charred it was after only 40 minutes. Next time I'll either have to use a different pan or watch the cake like a hawk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
A great dairy-free dessert...I combined several other reviewers' suggestions and used 1 cup white sugar, half cup of brown sugar in the cake and increased the apples to three cups. I mixed two cups of the apples into the cake and used the third cup as a middle layer. I had company over for dinner and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
A wonderful recipe that's worth every minute you spend making it! I added an extra cup of apples to the recipe and replaced the oil with no-sugar-added applesauce and greased/floured my pan with the powdered sugar for a crispy crust. I also stirred the apples in with the batter as opposed to layering them. With these changes, this cake, sliced into 36 slices (for breakfast accompaniments/minor dessert), this cake is only 105 calories per slice! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I baked this last nite because I had some apples lying around that no one was eating. I wanted a quick, no-thrills dessert. Unfortunately, that's exactly what this is. I know bundt cakes are notoriously bland, but this really hits ten on the bland scale. I think the oil was too much and ultimately destroyed this bundt. I even cut it down by 25%! But I think others were smarter to replace half w/ applesauce. Definitely do this! And, even though my icing is great and I made tons to pour over this, it still needs something more complex. The reviewer suggesting a caramel sauce sounded closer to what this will need to make it a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I used 3 cups of Granny Smith apples, 1.5 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1 tsp, and I used only 1 cup of brown sugar in place of the 2 cups of white, which was plenty sweet for me. I folded the apples and nuts in with the batter rather than layering them. I drizzled the cake with the caramel sauce recommended by another reviewer (1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 2 teaspoons milk, heated to a boil for 2 minutes). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fatneko
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I baked for 50 min and it was too long. i would start checking after 40 min. it is too dry after baking 50 min. I followed a reviewer's advice and used 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was still too sweet... Other people seemed to like it, but I would use even less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatneko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States