Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
So this is my first review on allrecipes so I hope Ill make this review good. First off, I agree with everyone who said to use one cup of reg. sugar and 1/2 cup brown. I think next time I make this recipe I will even cut down even more on the sugar. What I did was mix diced strawberries and apples together, and i lined the bottom of the cake pan with sliced apples, and decorated the finished cake with sliced strawberries and frosting. It was a very good combination. I want to try making cupcakes out of them next time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I've been baking this cake (minus the walnuts-- we're not fans) with my mother since I was a little girl, and it's always been one of my favorites. We use more apples and cinnamon than are called for, and a bit less sugar. We've had the best luck using good, firm baking apples sliced to about a quarter inch thickness-- this makes them layer nicely and gives the finished cake a good appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kersey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very nice cake, I didn't give the recipe 5 stars because it calls to bake for 55 minutes minimum at 350 degrees. I baked in a high quality nordicware bundt pan I've used several times before successfully with an oven thermometer to ensure the oven is at the correct temperature. The cake was definitely overdone. I would check at 40 min next time and would definitely not bake for more than 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made the cake in a 9' x 9' as it was baking it kept growing "DO NOT USE A 9 X 9!'' go bigger. besides that problem the cake was so good that everyone said ''you have to do it again for Christmas" and here I am again looking up this recipe. thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valeriacespedes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Don't forget the baking powder!!! use about 2 1/2 large apples. Holy 1c oil.... half apple sauce was a good tip. Very sweet, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This apple cake is the best I have ever eaten. It is even better than my sister-in-laws and she sells her cakes around the holidays. I didn't add that many apples as I like to taste the cake also I added crushed pecans as I didn't have any walnuts. I love the taste and the texture of this cake. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bklein

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Loved this! I've made it twice already. I used other reviewers comments and chopped 3 cups (not 2) apples finely, split sugar to half white/half brown, split oil to half applesauce/half oil, and added a little bit of cloves. In my oven, 55 minutes was enough, so watch the timing carefully. I carefully greased and floured my Bundt pan. After cooling 15 minutes, it came out perfectly. I dusted it with powdered suger. I'll also note that it is even better on the second/third day!! Great for fall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Photo by babs2574
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was GREAT!! I could give it a 10! I was given a bag of apples and was trying out new recipes when I came across this one. THANK YOU!! So very easy to make and I put half in the freezer for winter. Very nice addition of the orange juice. Maybe I will add a little zest next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I dont know what the person was talking about saying it was a bad cake, first time making a bundt cake and this rocks!! I would add some spices like all spice to just to give it a kick..other than that...perfect yummy cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I made this cake for my co-workers, they loved it. I added extra spices such as nutmeg, allspice, cloves, pumpkin pie spice. I never measure spices I just add them. This cake was very moist also I didn't measure the apples and this caused the batter to run over the pan. It was still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culleoka, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States