Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Very good cake, although by the time I incorporated the suggestions of other reviewers and added a few changes of my own, I'd have to say the recipe was the BASE. Substituted 50% brown sugar for the white and 50% applesauce for the oil. Added extra cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. Didn't have plain orange juice, so used a mango-peach blend. Also added extra apples and a ripe banana that I needed to use up. Used toasted pecans, instead of walnuts. The cake turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
this is a very dense cake, but it's also very yummy. it's a great comfort food, especially when combined with a cup of hot drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I made a few changes in this recipe but I used it as a base. I used a mixture of brown sugar and granulated sugar. I added plump golden raisins. And I just mixed the apples into the batter instead of layering it. Oh yeah, and I added a pinch of allspice. I did not have a bundt pan so I used my muffins tins and these made wonderful breakfast muffins. They did not rise hardly at all so I filled the tins up to the very top. Very dense and moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
We had company for a BBQ last night and severe thunder storms drowned our plans so we ended up ordering Chinese Food. This cake was the hit of the meal, it was enjoyed by all. I too used 4 cups apples, sprinkled with lots of cinnamon, cloves, allspice and nutmeg, and mixed it in with the batter. I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 fat free sour cream. What I like about this recipe is that the ingredients are those I would always have in the house and it was so quick and easy to put together I'm sure I wil be making this many, many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
My teenaged son made this cake as a treat for me. It's really good; nice and moist. I loved the little bits of walnuts. It gives the cake a nice texture along with the apples. Instead of dusting it with icing sugar, he made a little glaze of OJ and icing sugar and poured it on the cake when it was cool. He chose this cake because it contains no butter or milk as I am lactose intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
amazing! delicious! my dad wanted me 2 make it every time we ran out. i followed some of the directions other ppl mentioned, like an extra cup of apples, and half butter half oil, and i didnt use walnuts. also, the caramel frosting. ACE thx also, extra cinnamon and sugar in the apples is good. Fantastic YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phatfish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Way too heavy and not much taste. I even doubled the apples as suggested. I tried it twice. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
We made this recipe exactly to the directions, omitting only the walnuts. For some reason it just didn't turn out well at all; the cake was really wet and floury, and the flavor was off. Perhaps the apples had too much moisture. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Excellent recipe - very moist, but not too dense. My husband loves it for breakfast, I love it for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
The flavor was bland, the cake was dry. It had an unpleasant undertaste. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States