Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is exactly what I was looking for as a nice holiday dessert. This cake is unbelievably moist - I made it a week in advance, wrapped it in plastic and kept in my garage and it was still tender and fresh tasting when we cut into it. No changes or substitutions needed! Just serve with a dollop of whipped cream and you've got a wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This recipe was fantastic... even when I split the serving size in half, it still worked out well. Very sweet and fairly dense, it was a hit for a unique birthday cake for a friend. Perfect cake for autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was amazing! Of course i tweaked the recipe a little bit (i always do) I picked apples from the tree in my yard. I used a bit more cinnamon. I used one cup white sugar and 1/2 to 3/4 cup brown sugar( instead of two cups white sugar) I omitted the walnuts (only because i forgot them) and instead of layering, i mixed the apples and the batter together. i was worried how it would come out because it had a weird cookie dough consistency but it was great I loved it. my husband and daughter loved it too. My house smells awesome right now and i loved that i could make this with just things i had around the house (and in my tree) Great recipe. will make again for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
not impressed...not moist...flavorless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Sorry to say this cake is terrible. I've had it before and it was delicious, so I'm not sure what went wrong. I added the 2 cups apples as suggested and cut down on the sugar by 1/2 cup, and regret that I did that. However it was definitely overbaked at about 50 minutes. I did omit the nuts, too, so maybe that was the problem. It was dry, tasteless, and a bit oily. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was a great recipe! I used somewhere around 4 cups of apples, you could use the 2 cups called for but I wanted to use up the apples I had. Perfect coffee cake, great density, awesome texture with a wonderfully crunchy outside. Will lighten this up next time with sugar subst. and applesauce for an anytime cake. Loved it and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcgregor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I was concerned that 2 cups of sugar would make the batter too sweet, but it's not. I made the recipe as is, and my cake turned out great. I think that I may experiment with less oil next time to try and make it a bit healthier. Maybe 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Wish I had read the reviews before trying this one. I agree with adding 3 CUPS APPLE TO BATTER. If you layer the apples and get too many positioned by the inside tube, it's mushy. Next time I bake it I'll go for half and half ideas others have proposed. I'm confident simply adding the apples into the batter will make a huge difference and then the cake will rate 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My Pot Luck
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I changed some of the ingredients and gave some additional thing too. I use 3 apples, peeled and sliced not cubed them. Rub em in with lotsa cinnamon powder & 3 T of Brown sugar. For healthy conscious i cut down the oil intake by replaced half of it with applesauce. It makes the cake more moist and light tough. I replaced OJ with AJ (Apple Juice) too..i think i more suitable than OJ. Last...i sprinkled some almond stick above the batter. And i made Butter Rum icing syrup to be spread on the warm cake....Splendid! Even my mother in law screamed soon after i gave her slices of this apple cake...DELICIOUS!! Forgot to tell that i only use 1 cup of white sugar..It still taste sweet in my mouth..Also i didn't use bundt pan for this recipe, i use 22cm round pan. And took more than 60 mins to bake. Make sure to check every 20 mins, use bamboo skewer insert in the cake, to see whether the batter are completely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Pot Luck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This cake wasn't bad, but it was too bland for my tastes... I probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States