Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was great! I was looking for a quick easy recipe, and this was it. I didn't have OJ so I used 3/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce - this made it really moist. I was afraid that using 4 cups of apples, like other reviews had mentioned, would be too much, but it was perfect! I did also mix the apples into the batter instead of layering, and loved it that way. I put chopped walnuts and a sprinkle of sugar in the bottom of the bundt pan before I poured the batter in - it made a great crunchy 'crust' on the top of the cake! Also drizzled it with the caramel glaze after it cooled as other reviews mentioned (1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup butter, 2 tbsp milk) and it really made the cake! I did a second batch in 2 medium loaf pans and baked with walnuts on top, and topped with the caramel drizzle - I will probably stick with the loaves in the future! It didn't have to bake as long and seemed more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I personally thought this was a very good bundt cake. I would recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Family of 7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I loved this cake, the rich flavor complements the apples beautifully. the one thing I suggest is to add more cinnamon and half the recipe, it's really to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Absolutely perfect! I did tweak it a bit, based on a couple of suggestions found here -- used only one cup of white sugar and for the other cup used brown; added more apples (I used three large ones); and rather than layer them mixed them throughout the batter. Can't wait to make it again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLAP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Kept the Walnuts out for my allergy, but great hit at our Easter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This cake was scrumptious! I chopped up way too many apples, but they didn't go to waste (I added more than the recipe called for). The outside of the cake was just the right kind of "crispy", but the inside was moist, flavorful and delicious! I took it to BINGO as one of the desserts they serve (without trying it first -- bold move for me!). I thought there would be leftovers for me to take home, but I was wrong! I made another one the next day for the family. My kids loved it. Easy to make, and I saw another reviewer said something about mixing the apples into the batter. Next time I will do this. I didn't understand the need to "layer" batter, apples, batter, apples, etc. as it didn't look layered when I cut the cake. So next time, it all gets thrown together. Highly recommend this recipe. It's easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This recipe yields a wonderful cake. The only thing I did differently was that I didn't alternate layers instead I just mixed the apples with my batter and the result was amazing. I've already baked this cake a couple of times and I'm about to make another one because I have guests tonight and everyone's requesting this cake! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is fabulous. Per several other reviewers, I modified it as follows: 3 cups apples instead of 2; 1 1/2 cups of white sugar + 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 2 cups of white sugar; 1/2 cup oil + 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of 1 cup oil; omitted the walnuts; added 1 tsp of baking soda; and added 1/2 tsp allspice. I folded the apples into the mixture rather than layering and I baked for only 50 minutes. I sprinkled with powdered sugar and added the caramel icing (1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup butter, and 2 tsp milk and brought to boil for 2 minutes). Turned out perfect. I will sprinkle pan with white sugar next time instead of flour as suggested by another reviewer. Highly recommend trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
So this is my first review on allrecipes so I hope Ill make this review good. First off, I agree with everyone who said to use one cup of reg. sugar and 1/2 cup brown. I think next time I make this recipe I will even cut down even more on the sugar. What I did was mix diced strawberries and apples together, and i lined the bottom of the cake pan with sliced apples, and decorated the finished cake with sliced strawberries and frosting. It was a very good combination. I want to try making cupcakes out of them next time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I've been baking this cake (minus the walnuts-- we're not fans) with my mother since I was a little girl, and it's always been one of my favorites. We use more apples and cinnamon than are called for, and a bit less sugar. We've had the best luck using good, firm baking apples sliced to about a quarter inch thickness-- this makes them layer nicely and gives the finished cake a good appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kersey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States