Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
We made this recipe exactly to the directions, omitting only the walnuts. For some reason it just didn't turn out well at all; the cake was really wet and floury, and the flavor was off. Perhaps the apples had too much moisture. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Excellent recipe - very moist, but not too dense. My husband loves it for breakfast, I love it for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
The flavor was bland, the cake was dry. It had an unpleasant undertaste. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta Leydsman Fecke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This cake isn't bad at all, but it's nothing special either. I found it to be very moist, but rather bland and I’m looking for something with a bit more complex flavor. I subbed applesauce for the oil and added more apples as others had suggested. It came out of the pan and looked beautiful; just like the picture. The texture was also a little bit denser than I was looking for, but may be just what others want. If I were going to attempt this recipe again, I’d cut the apples smaller, reduce the eggs by at least one (I thought it was a little too eggy), and add some more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Amazing, I've made this many times, although I omit the orange juice and nuts. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This cake turned out REALLY well. I was a little worried becuse I only had two apples to put into it,but it still turned out really well regardless. I also used the caramel glaze, thanks to whoever posted the recipe down there , it was a lifesaver :) I am about ot make this one again, and I highly recommend it. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Excellent cake - I made some of the changes suggested by others: 4 cups apples, extra cinnamon, and baked at 325 since I used a dark-coated, non-stick bundt pan. Then I made my own change and drizzled a glaze over the top (2 cups powder sugar and 5-6 tbs. orange juice). The cake was SO moist, even days later and my dinner guests raved about it! Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I liked this cake. I did sub some applesauce for the oil like others but that is the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I use about 4 cups of apples and mix it into the batter. My family prefers it this way. It is a bit on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was one of the first "made from scratch" cakes I ever made and I still make it to this day (started baking in junior high school, now 22). I decided this was the cake I would make in my first run on my new KitchenAid mixer I got for Christmas and it was PERFECT. I substituted half of the sugar for dark brown sugar and cut up the apples into little cubes so they would soak up the cinnamon and sugar better. Cutting the apples smaller also helped in dispersing the moisture throughout the cake. In addition, next time I will try melted butter instead of the oil. I feel that would make the cake even more fragrant. I work in a well-known restaurant and the pastry chef said "I feel like we have a new pastry intern!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States