Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is a very moist cake. It 'could' have used a little more apple in it, as it cookes down, but then I'm not sure if it might turn out mushy in the end. I don't like to use as much oil as this recipe calls for so I split the oil with 1/2 applesauce (it was actually peach flavor). I stirred the apples into the batter as others suggested, and I added a dash of nutmeg for a little more zest. To be honest, I think it could use more cinnamon. Maybe another 1/2 tsp. It seemed on the bland side 'spice' wise - but that is because I love anything with cinnamon in it! I know some people don't like to be 'heavy' on the cinnamon - but I do! I topped the cooled cake with a glaze of : 1 1/2 C confectioners sugar, 1T butter melted, dash of popcorn salt and 2 1/2 T apple juice. Mixed the glaze and let it set up about an hour to let the butter firm up, then drizzled over the cake. The little extra flavor from the juice within the glaze adds a nice touch. The glaze isn't overly sweet, as the salt offsets the sweet, as does the apple so it comes out tasting like a sweet apple glaze. YUM! I can't wait to see what the folks at work think when I bring this in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEVANG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I love this cake and so do all my co-workers! It is so moist and rich that, in my opinion, doesn't need any icing. I serve it with a dollop of whip cream and a hot cup of coffee - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was wonderful! It was better the next day that day baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was good - although next time I think I'll take other reviews advice and fold the apples into the batter. I didn't like the way it look with the apples in layers. I used 1 cup splenda, 2/3 cup brown sugar and 1/2 applesauce/1/2 oil. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Excellent cake!! As others suggested, I folded the apples into the batter. I also added about 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the apples, omitted the walnuts (only because my dad dislikes them) and made a glaze for the top rather than dusting with powdered sugar. Turned out perfectly moist. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILSKA50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this yesterday for dessert. My family loved it! It was moist and not too sweet. I mixed the apples in with the rest of the batter and it came out perfect. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
The cake was really good...however, mine was burnt on the bottom (?). After I removed the burnt layer, it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
A moist and taste good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Very good. The texture is dense for a cake, more like a bread. But served it at a brunch and everyone enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leftystephy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I mixed the apples into the batter Excellent and very moist. I will be adding this to my list of favourites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States