Apple Brine for Turkey the Night Before Cooking Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by katielrose
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Really good. I had a smaller turkey (12 or 13 lbs) and I was able to use a 12 qt stock pot for brining, still lined it with the oven bag and poured everything straight in and fit it in my fridge. Wouldn't work for anything much bigger though; it was almost up to the brim as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
First time I brined and cooked a turkey. This recipe was easy and the results were fantastic. Turkeys around the world are planning counter-strike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M C Cookalott

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Osteen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have been cooking turkeys for almost 30 years and I tried this recipe last Thanksgiving. I have to admit that it was the moistest, juiciest turkey that I ever cooked. I will be cooking another turkey this Christmas using this recipe. Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was the first time I 'brined' the turkey. I read all the reviews and they sounded so wonderful. I followed the recipe and awaited the turkey with great anticipation. I was very disappointed when it turned out to be extremely salty! Luckily I was cooking it for family and not for guests. I don't think I'll try that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
It works, wonderfully, for making your meat moist and tender. I found there were no Ziploc bags that would handle a 20 pound turkey plus brine so I used a garbage bag. I am a germaphobe but I saw no reason to be concerned about the plastic and it worked wonderfully well in a cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
everyone raved about the taste and moisture of the turkey. Even two days after Thanksgiving, the turkey was great. Relatives that normally don't eat turkey could not get enough of it. I will use this recipe every time i make poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I have done this for many years now and will NOT make a turkey or breast without brining first. Makes even a store brand taste top of the line. I also use some large pieces of cut up celery and onion as well as apple. I have always used a garbage bag placing the bag in the cooler then the ingredients then the turkey, make sure NOT to use one of the scented bags of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShareBare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
For all of the complaints about your turkey being too salty even after the brining process and being rinsed off: You need to let the turkey rest in the fridge overnight to get the rest of the brining mixture out of your turkey!!! About 2 cups or more of the brine will end up in the bowl. Then rinse the turkey again and pat dry! Most recipes miss this key step. Also don't use salted butter or chicken broth on your turkey or it will end up being salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
The turkey was very juicy. But we make our gravy from the dripping. Even though I rinsed the bird it was still full of SALTY liquid we had to pour off during the roasting. The resulting gravy was way too salty. For that reason alone I won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azwaterwitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Morgan, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My first turkey was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States