Apple Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I like the idea of butter in a quick bread, but experience has shown me that you compromise some moistness. Breads made with oil are simply a lot more moist. I used half white and half brown sugar and, because I wasn't keen on the cloves, substituted pumpkin pie spice. I added about 2/3 c. dried cherries (really nice!) and glazed the warm bread with 1 c. powdered sugar and 2 T. half and half. All in all a good bread, and pretty too, but I think next time I might try adding about 2 T. of oil to the batter for additional moistness without sacrificing that great buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made this recipe twice. The first time I followed it exactly with white sugar and baked it for the full hour. My bread was great, but a little burnt on the bottom. The second time I substituted half of the white sugar with brown sugar and reduced the bake time to 45 minutes. It was just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
Loved this recipe. I did use brown sugar instead of white and shredded my apples instead of chopping. It turned out simply lovely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farnham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakingdom
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as directed, except that I made it as muffins to cut bake time for a special Valentine's Day breakfast. Turned out delicious! Just before putting them in the oven, I sprinkled turbinado sugar on top. I baked them for 20 minutes at 375 degrees and they turned out perfect. Made 18 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingdom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I make loaves of bread for my husband's employees every Christmas. We've moved, but I have recieved emails from 10 employees at our old location requesting a couple loaves of this bread, if I happen to be coming to town. It's one of my top requests. The only change I make is to add 1/2 teaspoon on both ginger and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This is very nice! The only thing I did differently is that I grated the apples and I left out the cloves. Before I added the apples I tested the batter and found that it needed more cinnamon, so I stirred an additional TSP. into the grated apples then folded them into batter. The batter is very thick and heavy,almost like a cookie dough! But once it baked up it's nice, light and moist. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this last week for the first time. I followed the recipe using 2 Granny Smith apples, and added 3/4 cup of raisins. I was a bit worried upon putting the bread into the pan, as it seemed rather thick and I was worried the raisins I added might further dry out the bread. I couldn't have been more wrong! The bread was moist and delicious and the entire family enjoy it! I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is a pretty good apple quick bread. After going through the reviews, I did half white sugar and half brown sugar. I used three chopped apples instead of two. I did use the amount of cloves called for. Unfortunately, this bread did come out a little dry. Next time, I will add a little oil to the batter and I will substitute nutmeg for the cloves. Otherwise this is a nice apple bread served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was a very good recipe. I was a little nervous at first becuase before I put the apples in (which I shredded) my batter was like paste. I could hardly get a wooden spoon through it. I grated my apples directly over the bowl and let the juice run in and it made it the perfect consistancy. The bread came out moist and delicious. I will porbably add some nuts and use brown sugar next time, but I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I LOVE this recipe! My toddlers and husband love this bread for snacking, so I make sure to always have some on hand. Freezes well! I use brown sugar instead of white, and it turns out mouth-watering every time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States