Apple Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe! I shredded the apples before adding, used brown sugar instead of white and omitted the cloves since I didn't have any. I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
They loved this at work. I didn't have cloves, so I just doubled the cinnamon. It was good, but did seem a little on the dry side. I also tried with my Maple sugar, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Really good! My boyfriend described it as "banana bread with apples" which is a pretty accurate picture. I made a couple changes based on suggestions: half white sugar, half brown, and I replaced the 1/2 cup butter with 1/4 cup butter and 1/8 cup oil. I also probably increased the apples; I used 4 smallish, chopped fine. All together, very good! I might try adding some sort of crumb topping next time.. because I can't leave recipes well enough alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Easy to make. I subed 1/2 cup brown sugar for 1/2 of the white suger per someones suggestion. My oven temp has to be upped 10 degrees to bake per recipe directions. Even doing this I had to bake an hour and ten minutes. The bread came out nice looking. It tasted good, but is way to sweet for my liking. About half a slice is all I could eat. Probably wouldn't make again, but this is just because of my taste preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candie
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Followed the recipe as written and found the bread tasty but very dry. I used Granny Smith apples and I don't think my 2 were big enough because the apple flavor is just barely detectable through the cinnamon. I do plan on making this again in the future with larger/more apples and maybe shortening instead of butter or some applesauce added to make the bread more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've made this a few times now. As it's written, this is an excellent recipe. I've since adapted it a bit. I don't see the need to peel the apples - it takes time and once they're in the bread, the skins aren't really noticeable. Since this uses such a thick batter, a wire whisk is a BAD choice to use for mixing. A wooded spoon is OK; but a silicon spatula is by-far the best thing to use to mix and transfer this into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpitingolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. Will make again and again. I substituted nutmeg for the ground cloves, added a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil, used half white and half brown sugar and my apple of choice was golden delicious which I shredded. I would also suggest monitoring the baking time, as others mentioned it was ready in less than an hour. Check after 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was excellent! I used half brown, half white sugar, and I added two tbsp canola oil. Mine was done in about 50 minutes. Next time I will double the cinnamon, and maybe add some vanilla extract, as this is a very mild flavored bread. Great for breakfast or with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe, especially when you're looking to use up all of the apples you pick during the fall. I followed it exactly, perhaps adding a bit more cinnamon, and it was really delicious and moist. A definite keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States