Apple Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great base recipe. I used safflower oil instead of butter.I initially panicked as I was mixing in the dry ingredients with the wet because it was not moist enough to incorporate all the flour, so I added in another two tbs of oil and some water, little by little until the consistency was to my liking. Turned out awesome and oh so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have been using this recipe for a few years now and it has become a fall staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was very good. I made it while on vacation and didn't have any cooking oil on hand, which i usually use when making quick bread. I did have butter, sugar, flour and apples from Wisconsin though. And this bread was the perfect treat! I made it exactly as directed, except omitting the cloves because I didn't have any. I didn't find it dry at all. It was nice and moist. I used Cortland apples and cut them chunky. I also cut the recipe in half to make two small mini loaves. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I will DEFINITELY make this again! First time to make it modifications: added 2 tbsp oil, 1/2 c. crushed walnuts, 1/2 c. crushed pecans, nutmeg instead of cloves, half brown/half white sugar, grated apples, topped with whole walnuts and pecans to make it pretty. Next time, I'll do the same thing, but add 1-2 more grated apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I've made this recipe 3x in the last 2 weeks! My husband and toddler are both big fans. I reduced the amount of cloves used to 1/4 tsp (personal preference) and used half light brown sugar, half white sugar. I shredded the apples and was very pleased with the amount of juice rendered; it helped the stir-ability of the batter considerably!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Ok! So I have tried the bread....LOVELY and if I cannot improve the texture be any more moist, I am STILL keeping it and making it a constant in this home. Am going to try to try some of the other reviewers ideas for moistness but this bread in no way is a disappointment. FABULOUS new family fall tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I have made this twice in a week and a half time frame! It is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I followed the advice of a few of the other commenters below and subbed brown sugar for half the white sugar. The bread is sweet without being overwhelming, moist and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
unfortunately dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Pretty good, just remember to chop the apples really fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States