Apple Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This bread is delicious, I used Macintosh apples. The only problem I had is that the center did not cook thoroughly after 57 minutes even though the outside was starting to dry and over-brown. I added 1 Tbs canola oil, 1 Tbs lemon juice, 1 tsp vanilla and I substituted the cloves for nutmeg. The flavor was terrific, I just wish it cooked more consistently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
like heaven in my mouth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I just made this for the first time and YUM! I tripled the recipe and didn't have enough butter. So I used 1 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil instead. I shredded 7 Rome apples and used a pinch of pumpkin spice. I put two loaves in the freezer and just ate a warm piece fresh out of the oven of the third loaf. YUM!! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great bread I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Yum. I have made this several times, but this was the first time I was out of cloves. I decided to subsitute pumpkin pie spice which contains cloves, nutmeg, ginger, and cinnamon, and I think this is my best loaf ever. I still used the full amount of cinnamon called for in the recipe. I made it to take to school for second grade Apple Fest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
cool recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Superprinces34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Great recipe! I made them as muffins baking them at 375º for 15 minutes, but next time I'll bake them at 350º. I only made one change because I didn't have ground cloves. I used 1/2 tsp of ginger and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg (as another reviewer suggested).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This bread is excellent, moist and full of flavour. I used mixed spice rather than cloves and the smell while baking was lovely! I followed other users by going for a 45 mins bake time but in the end it needed almost the hour anyway. It is a little hard on the outside but inside very moist. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I made this bread with Asian Pears that I grated instead of apples and used nutmeg instead of cloves. Delish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I made this bread for a friend at her house. I trippled the recipe, but only used 1/2 C butter and added 1C of olive oil instead. I also used 4 C whole wheat flour, 1 C all purpose, and 1 C quick oats. She only had 2 apples so I added about 1 C shredded carrot, 1/2 C blueberries, and 1/2 C mashed banana. I used 1/2 of the recommended sugar and added 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp ginger, and a 1 tsp vanilla. It came out great and the changes made the bread healthier too! My only regret is not having any pecans or walnuts, because this would have brought it up one more notch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States