Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Good apple bread recipe. I modified it by adding a generous amount of vanilla, swapped brown sugar for white sugar, and butter for oil. I cut back on both the sugar and butter, as following the recipe's proportions made the bread too sweet and too buttery for my taste. I wanted it to be delicious, without being too unhealthy. I cut back both by a third. The bread was still tasty and moist. I also used honey crisp apples which might also be why I needed to cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Delicious!This is a very moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Franklin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
The bread tasted terrible. We could taste the oil over everything else. When it was baking it smelled so good but once we cut into it, it was just wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuperMom2006
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I added a heaping tsp of vanilla and this was amazing!! My family loved this bread and was an excellent way to use those apples my neighbor gave me before they want bad. Turned out moist and fluffy. Will be making this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom2006

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
AMAZING bread! I used the recommended 1 cup white sugar and 1.5 cups brown sugar. I cut up 4 cups of Gala apples but kept them "chunky". We like chunks of apple in our bread. I added them at the very end and beat them into the batter in a mixer for about 45 seconds. I sprinkled the breads with brown sugar before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I made some modifications to increase the flavor and healthiness turned out moist and with great flavor. Reduced the sugar to 1 cup and did 1/2 c brown and 1/2 c white sugar. Reduced the oil to 1/2c. Added 1 cup apple sauce as a replacement for the 1/2 c oil. Also added 1/4 c sour cream, 2 tbsp fresh squeezed orange juice and 1 tsp vanilla. Also increased the baking soda to 2 tsp to give a bit more fluffiness and added additional 1/4 c flour due to the other modifications I made. This version turned out moist with great natural flavor and just a good amount of sugar without the overload.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
You people that change the recipe get me! How can you review a recipe if you do not follow the original. If you change the recipe then it is YOUR recipe or in this case Jillian's. Maybe the original recipe had vanilla and the submitter forgot it. most quick bread recipes include vanilla. The funniest one is the one that said "the best recipe EVER" then went on to list all the changes she made. I do not mean to complain I just do not understand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I cut the sugar to 1 cup and 1/3 and came out delicious.I don't think you need 2 cup of sugar.Thank you for the recipe. if you want to make it just follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This recipe was really dry and has an odd taste that I can't put my finger on. The amount of sugar in this recipe is appalling so I cut the sugar in half which could have left the bread dry but at least I saved calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States