Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This recipe is lacking some of the flavorings used in classic apple bread. My mom's recipe, which is definitely not bland, goes back to the 60's and it's exactly the same as above in ingredients and measurements, but it *also* calls for two (2) tsp. vanilla extract and 1 tsp. ground allspice (in addition to the 1 tsp. cinnamon). Like Jillian's version, it also bakes at 350 for 1 hour. You may cut the oil back to 3/4 cup and it still is plenty moist. I don't cut the recipe in half because this cake freezes well and two loaves means one can be frozen and saved for another day. Why bake twice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Awesome! The taste of heaven and a great snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Good starter recipe and great warmed up! Added vanilla and should have added some nutmeg and extra cinnamon for more flavor. I would also add a sugar/crumble topping next time. Overall good recipe but will make modifications above next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA
Photo by Stevie
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I hit send before and didn't complete my review. Oh well, here it goes again. I loved this recipe. I made a couple minor changes. I replaced one cup of white sugar with brown sugar. I also added a tablespoon of vanilla extract. Also, instead of using bread pans I used one regular ~8x8 pan and it turned out great! I also added a pinch of extra cinnamon because I just love cinnamon with apples! I went without the nuts, but will try that next time! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I have made this recipe several times and loved it every time! Sometimes I use pears instead of apples. I think using the white sugar is what gives it that lovely crust. Everyone that I have shared it with says it tastes like something they would of bought at a hi end coffee shop. Have tried a couple of different recipes since and nothing compared to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
took this to a a potluck and it got rave reviews! since then I have modified this by increasing the apples by a cup (total of 4 cups) and decreased the sugar by half a cup (total of 1.5 cups) and it came out even better (in my opinion and my husbands as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is one of the best apple bread recipes I have baked. I followed Jullian's added suggestions and I used 1.5 to 2 tsp of pure vanilla and I added 1/2tsp nutmeg 1cup white sugar and 1cup brown sugar. I had pecans on hand so I used them. I made mini loaves they were perfect. Adjust the cooking time because the pans are small. Thank You Karla for sharing this wonderful recipe. I have passed this recipe on to other people. They also loved it. I hope you don't take offense to the added ingredients used in your recipe. The basic recipe is what is most important I give all the credit to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I used this recipe, but substituted 1c of whole wheat flour for one of the 3 called for cups, and followed Jillian's recommendation using 1c brown sugar and 1c white sugar- also added 2tsp vanilla. Baked for 1hr at 350 degrees... Didnt use walnuts this time, but maybe next time, I imagine that will be delish! Sooo good, and a great way to use up any apples that are too bruised or sitting around for a little longer than you prefer your fresh apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I did not add nuts (personal preference) and halved the recipe to make only one loaf. Also I took another reviewer's suggestion to use 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar; also added a little extra chopped apples. We were blown away with how good this apple bread was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I usually make this recipe as written ingredient-wise, and it turns out fantastic! IF you can keep your family from eating both loaves at once, freeze one to pull out later. The only thing I change is that I don't peel the apples and also mix everything in one bowl, I just mix together the oil, etc, then throw the flour mixture in on top of that. Easier when making for breakfast while having the first cup of coffee :) My family loves this recipe, and it makes the whole house smell terrific. Great way to use up apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States