Apple Bran Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Woah, some of you are being too harsh. These are muffins, not cupcakes. I added a bit more apples and a little more milk. My bf and father loved them since they were not too sweet. Drizzling honey over the muffins adds the perfect touch of added sweetness without compromising the recipe. Next time I will add more cheese, less sugar and continue with the honey. If your muffins are bland, remember when you add more of bland ingredients (such as milk, water, baking powder, etc) you need to add more savory/sweet ingredients (salt if you have more cheese, sugar/cinnamon if you add more apples). Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Made with extra 1 cup cheddar & no cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
i loved it and so did the kids i feed at the breakfast club....yes i had to add more milk about a cup....but it was fabuloussssssss...thanks Leslie usher-canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
The so-called batter looked and felt more like a streusel topping. I did add a little extra milk because it was so dry, but to me, baking is chemistry and if I have to toy with a recipe as much as some of the previous reviewers did....it just can't be good! I expect that a baking recipe is correct as written. Anything more than adding chocolate chips or nuts invalidates the recipe. My son, who was so anxious to make this with me, and I were terribly disappointed by this recipe, because it sounded so good in theory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montreal mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
My boys like these. They are great with milk, (they are a little dry). Next time, I will add more apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This is a good recipe that just needs a few adjustments. First, the batter is too dry and reduced flour or extra milk does the trick. Personally, as the recipe stands I think there is no point in adding cheddar, as it is drowned out by the cinnamon and brown sugar. If you want afternoon apple bran cheddar muffins, reduce the cinnamon and sugar, and increase the amount of cheddar. If you sweet apple cinnamon bran muffins, leave out the cheddar... Thanks for this recipe, its a great place to start and ends up with many potential great outcomes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Very Good! Batter was a little dry and I will change the ingredients according to last reviewer but this is a great healthy treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Wonderfully different and delicious with a few changes (they def need more liquid!), similar to what the first reviewer wrote. I used 1 cup milk, shredded the apple, used 2/3 cup melted real butter instead of the veg oil, used 1 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup white flour (instead of all white), 1 cup cheddar and added about 2/3 cup of chopped walnuts. With all of these changes, it made too much for one batch, so I split it in 2 batches. My boyfriend and I LOVE them and these will definitely be made again! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Muffin batter very dry, could not incorporate the dry ingredients as the bran soaked up all the milk. I increased the milk to 1 c., the oil to 2/3 c., the cheese to 1 c. and the cinnamon to 1.5 tsp. I also added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. Will use this recipe again with these improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I agree with most of the other reviews about the dryness. I added more milk and oil so that the flavor didn't go away. My five year old loves them. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States