Apple Bran Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This is a good recipe that just needs a few adjustments. First, the batter is too dry and reduced flour or extra milk does the trick. Personally, as the recipe stands I think there is no point in adding cheddar, as it is drowned out by the cinnamon and brown sugar. If you want afternoon apple bran cheddar muffins, reduce the cinnamon and sugar, and increase the amount of cheddar. If you sweet apple cinnamon bran muffins, leave out the cheddar... Thanks for this recipe, its a great place to start and ends up with many potential great outcomes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I couldn't believe the instructions said to "pour" the batter into the muffin tins -- it was so dry I had to add almost a cup of milk. The result was tasteless and bland. I threw out 11 of the 12 muffins and will not be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Wonderfully different and delicious with a few changes (they def need more liquid!), similar to what the first reviewer wrote. I used 1 cup milk, shredded the apple, used 2/3 cup melted real butter instead of the veg oil, used 1 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup white flour (instead of all white), 1 cup cheddar and added about 2/3 cup of chopped walnuts. With all of these changes, it made too much for one batch, so I split it in 2 batches. My boyfriend and I LOVE them and these will definitely be made again! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
I grated the apples for this recipe my co-workers loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
I found the mixture dry and had to add additional milk. Not very flavorful. Would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
There needs to be more liquid in this recipe-I was somewhat dissappointed in the overall flavor-maybe more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
I'm an amateur cook and this looked easier than it was. Definitely worth the effort if you like bran - YUM! Could probably use more cheese in recipe and I had to add a little water while mixing, but the cinnamon/br. sugar is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTENHIPS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
The so-called batter looked and felt more like a streusel topping. I did add a little extra milk because it was so dry, but to me, baking is chemistry and if I have to toy with a recipe as much as some of the previous reviewers did....it just can't be good! I expect that a baking recipe is correct as written. Anything more than adding chocolate chips or nuts invalidates the recipe. My son, who was so anxious to make this with me, and I were terribly disappointed by this recipe, because it sounded so good in theory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montreal mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
This was a really easy recipie to make. My 5 year old, who is really picky, didn't like the way they looked, but said that they tasted good on the bottom. I guess the top looked too "ugly". I would definatly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
i loved it and so did the kids i feed at the breakfast club....yes i had to add more milk about a cup....but it was fabuloussssssss...thanks Leslie usher-canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States