Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
A little tartness from the OJ but a very easy recipe. Might use a little less OJ next time cause it was a little watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Litt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I tried this recipe today. I'd seen some of the comments about it being runny. I used gala apples. Mine turned out delicious, but a little runny. I think the problem is how much liquid is released by your apples. Different apples can produce different amount of "juice" when cooked. In a traditional apple pie this is addressed by tossing a bit of cornstarch with the apples when you prepare them. I'm going to try that next time. I'm confident that will make this recipe perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Easy and soooo delicious...I drizzled some ice cream topping caramel over the apples.. And before the streusel....YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Great dessert! So tasty warm with vanilla ice cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Winner! Went with 1/2 brown & 1/2 white sugar as suggested. Also added 1/8 tsp ground cloves and threw in some cranberries. Used about 10 small red apples. Placed them in a bowl of orange juice while cutting and then drained (drank actually) the juice before baking since the apples were on the mushy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I will make this again though will add some oatmeal to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Loved this! Even DH can make it! Works just as well with lemon juice (diluted a bit)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was okay. If you're looking for a very simple apple crumble recipe, this is one but it isn't anything outstanding in my opinion. There are better ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very easy recipe and quite healthy too! Could use a little more spicing and maybe a dash of liquor, but it went awesomely with a dollop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Wow! This is a great alternative to a pie and ridiculously easy to make. I was worried about how it would taste since its so simple, but it was great. I made it the day before and reheated it in the oven for a Thanksgiving desert. I used granny smith apples. As others have noted, I thought the crumble was a tad sweet and will use less sugar the next time I make it, but won't change a thing otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Morris-Vogel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States