Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The topping couldn't have turned out better. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. I used cold butter -- no need to wait for it to soften. For the person who had soupy pie, maybe the wrong type of apples were used? I used Granny Smith, and they maintained their firmness. Another person commented not to slice the apples to thin, so I left mine a bit thick and cooked an extra 15 minutes as suggested, and they turned out a bit too mushy for my taste. Next time I will only cook for 45 minutes and leave the slices as is (I used an apple corer, which produced 6 slices, then I sliced those in half.) A little too much nutmeg. I would decrease to 1/4 teaspoon next time because it overpowered the cinnamon. Reheat from room temperature at 200 degrees for a 10 minutes and serve with vanilla bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Fast, easy, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newwife07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a great alternative to apple pie! Thank U!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This recipe was delicious and sooo easey to make! I love it! Follow it to the tee and wouldn't change a thing :-) Made them in individual serving plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is an easy delicious recipe. As recommended, I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white and then I added chopped walnuts to the top and served with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This recipe is amazing and so easy. I sprinkled a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg over the apples and added 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar (the first time I made it, it was too sweet) and it was absolutely perfect. This is a great way to impress guests with things that most people have around all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Simple, Easy and Yummy! My fiance ate half of it in one sitting, and was devestated when he came home and found the dog had knocked it off the counter and ate the rest. I served it with vanilla bean ice cream with a little carmel sauce. The only change I made to the recipe was to use brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Rust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Great easy desert!!! The only thing I did differently was used a teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg. 1/4 did not look like enough for the flour mixture. I will cut the apple slices a little bigger next time and may add another apple. Can use half brown sugar in place of white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leasha1883

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was just okay for me. I'm not sure if I would make it again. I thought there was too much sugar and way too much butter. The apples shouldn't be too thinly sliced or they get mushy, and this needs to be eaten right away. Leftovers did not taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Scrumptious! My husband says it's as good as Apple Pie. Served it with a little heavy cream poured over it while it was still warm. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States