Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was delicious and so much easier than a standard apple pie! (Less calories, too! : ) I think the watery and mushy apple problems are the fault of the kinds of apples used, not the recipe. Make sure you use a baking apple- we used half Granny Smiths and half golden delicious. Wonderful! Red delicious won't bake well, so don't use them! Google search to find out what are good baking apples, if you don't already know, but don't blame it on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
loved it! especially the crispy top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomofT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
HOly Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The topping couldn't have turned out better. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. I used cold butter -- no need to wait for it to soften. For the person who had soupy pie, maybe the wrong type of apples were used? I used Granny Smith, and they maintained their firmness. Another person commented not to slice the apples to thin, so I left mine a bit thick and cooked an extra 15 minutes as suggested, and they turned out a bit too mushy for my taste. Next time I will only cook for 45 minutes and leave the slices as is (I used an apple corer, which produced 6 slices, then I sliced those in half.) A little too much nutmeg. I would decrease to 1/4 teaspoon next time because it overpowered the cinnamon. Reheat from room temperature at 200 degrees for a 10 minutes and serve with vanilla bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Fast, easy, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newwife07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a great alternative to apple pie! Thank U!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This recipe was delicious and sooo easey to make! I love it! Follow it to the tee and wouldn't change a thing :-) Made them in individual serving plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is an easy delicious recipe. As recommended, I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white and then I added chopped walnuts to the top and served with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This recipe is amazing and so easy. I sprinkled a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg over the apples and added 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar (the first time I made it, it was too sweet) and it was absolutely perfect. This is a great way to impress guests with things that most people have around all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Simple, Easy and Yummy! My fiance ate half of it in one sitting, and was devestated when he came home and found the dog had knocked it off the counter and ate the rest. I served it with vanilla bean ice cream with a little carmel sauce. The only change I made to the recipe was to use brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinagail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States