Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
came out very good, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I had some Fugi apples that had sat around too long and were getting soft. I knew I had to do something with them soon, so I grabbed this recipe off the internet. I used both brown sugar and white sugar...1/2 cup each. I also added 1 cup of dry oatmeal to the dry mix to make it more like an an Apple Crisp. It turned out delicious! The oatmeal gave it a more crispy texture, which my family prefers. I also cooked for only 35 minutes, because the apples were already soft, and didn't want to end up with mushy apples. PERFECT! I will make this again and again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Wow, this was so delicious! I used fuji apples and put them in a large ceramic pie pan that I sprayed well with PAM to avoid sticking. I followed the recipe exactly except I used whipped butter instead of stick butter to lower the sat. fat a little, but still used the 1/2 cup amount. The recipe said to cut the apples thin and I sliced them about 1/4 inch and they were perfectly cooked. I loved the added orange juice idea. Will make this again. Thank you submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Just tasted the pie. Its really really delicious yet so simple to make. Copied the recipe but did leave it in the oven for 1 hr 15 min cuz i like the apple mushy. The crunch on top goes so well with the mushy apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was super easy to make and my family loved it. I should have halved the sugar as others indciated because it was a little too sweet for my taste. Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Super easy!! I used an orange juice with a punch of pear and pineapple, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meghanr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
a good alternative to pie...similar to apple crisp. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrszink02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
After making this for dessert for a double date, my good friend called me a week later asking for the recipe because her boyfriend had a dream about "that apple stuff." LOL Definitely use some brown sugar to caramelize the streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
OMG this is soo good,and easy too,.I didnt have juice so I used lemon instead and cut the sugar to 3/4 C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is not a recipe for you if you are hoping for apples with the consistency of apple pie. Like a few others, I would say that my apples were too mushy for my preference. I think the orange juice tends to boil the apples rather than bake them. If I were to make this again, I would avoid adding the orange juice or add a little flour to the apple mixture. While I did not like the texture as an apple dessert, I did blend the final product and called it, "baked applesauce. As a unique and creative baked applesauce, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States