Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I used golden delicious and Granny Smith apples but the thin-slicing made them a little soggy. Or maybe it was because I doubled the recipe and the orange juice didn't need to be doubled? Simple and good but, this round, not sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Made recipe exactly as stated and it came out delish and perfect. I used freshly ground nutmeg and fresh ground cinnamon and that made a big difference. Recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Funliven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brundidge, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. If you like it sweeter use Rome or Delicious apples. I like it with Jonathan, Granny Smith or Gala which are a little more tart. I think that balances the sweetness of the topping. And I usually double the topping because everybody loves that part:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I will definitely make this again sometime soon it was so delicious an was exactly what my family and were wanting it was also very easy to but the only hard part was peeling the apples which my mom did for me. I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celaya2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! Possibly the best and easiest recipe for Apple Betty I hve ever used! Only change I made was I used Spiced apple Cider instead of OJ,,,,(cause we were out)......absolutely wonderful! I wont use anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
As other reviewers have suggested, I used half white and half brown sugar and I was absolutely phenomenal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is very easy and delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe. I have been making this same Apply Betty recipe for years. Got it out of an old Betty Crocker Cookbook. It is a no-fail recipe. I use tart apples because of the amount of sugar and butter in this recipe. Pippin or Granny Smith apples are best. I usually don't have orange juice in my fridge so I often just use 2 Tablespoons of a sweet lemon like a Myers lemon instead. It adds the right amount of sour to the tartness of the apples and sweetness of the topping. I cut the apples about 1/4 inch thick. Yummy! Great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I was looking for a quick, easy dessert to make a few nights ago and came across this Apple Betty. Since I had all the ingredients on hand, I thought I'd give it a try. I took the suggestion of many others and mixed white and brown sugar. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! It was such a hit that I made it again the following evening. Now I'll have to be sure we don't always have apples available to prevent making it over and over:) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The best!!! Did half brown, half white sugar, otherwise followed recipe! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States