Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Easy and pretty good. If I'm looking for an extremely easy and quick apple dessert recipe, I'll consider this one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Wowie! That's fabulous! Super easy and super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Last night other half comments that an Apple Betty sounded good. I took that as a challenge, and made the first one of my life using this recipe. It came out great. The aroma was wonderful. My apples were some Red Delicious, so not the best cooking apple, but what I had on hand. I baked for 50 minutes with the top of the pie plate at the center of the oven. The apples were done perfectly and the crumb crust was perfectly browned. The only thing I would possibly change is the amount of topping. It seemed to be a little too much for the amount of apple. I think 3/4 of the amount would be more to my taste. The texture was great, and the flavor was very true to an old fashioned Betty. DP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Truly wonderful and easy!! Great stuff!! Try using 1/2 brown sugar though! :) I also added some pecans. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Lilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I tried this recipe and doubled it and ended up using half white and half brown sugar and instead of just plain orange juice, I used Orange peach mango juice. It turned out AMAZING. My boyfriend ate a whole one to himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_Mary_Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made the crumb topping in my food processor, but found there was too much butter, so it amalgamated into a kind of gloop! I added another 1/2 cup of flour and gave it another burst - fab crumbs! The topping ended up rather too crunchy, but I guess this is due to my extra flour. Next time I will just reduce the butter in the first place. The taste is great - I used English Bramley apples and didn't need any extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Perfect! My husband and I love this dessert and will make it again! Very sweet, you may add some whipped cream. This is the best apple recipe I have ever made. Just great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Most Excellent Dessert. Or breakfast depending on your inclinations. I added a handful of chopped pecans to the apples, because I like pecans. Easy and fast when you need to make something quick and easy for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
A very easy and tasty recipe. It hardly takes any time or effort to put together and the end result is extremely tasty. I was out of orange juice, so substituted with a little lime juice. Didn't make a difference. I also used half brown sugar and half white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I've made this recipe twice and both times I thought to myself "this needs less flour". I like my crust to have a little more crunch. Also I suggest two green apples and one red apple to cut the tartness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States