Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Most Excellent Dessert. Or breakfast depending on your inclinations. I added a handful of chopped pecans to the apples, because I like pecans. Easy and fast when you need to make something quick and easy for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
A very easy and tasty recipe. It hardly takes any time or effort to put together and the end result is extremely tasty. I was out of orange juice, so substituted with a little lime juice. Didn't make a difference. I also used half brown sugar and half white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I've made this recipe twice and both times I thought to myself "this needs less flour". I like my crust to have a little more crunch. Also I suggest two green apples and one red apple to cut the tartness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was really good. It tasted great when I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
delicious!!!! made with 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very good the only thing i would change is cooking it for 40 min the apple where over cooked and it was almost like apple sauce . I would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycooker67

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Can I give it 10 stars? Please!?! Wonderful!!! 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar, about 7 small granny smith apples, added 1 tsp vanilla to orange juice. Turned out wonderful. The crumb topping was nice and crisp and the apples were in a nice thick goo. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I've tried various apple betty and apple pie recipes over the years, and this is my favorite apple dessert dish. Everyone always loves this when I prepare it in the fall and winter. Some changes I make: I substitute half brown sugar, and I use a few pinches of cloves along with the spices. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This should be called an Apple Crisp, not an Apple Betty which should be made with bread cubes. Th was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SCARLETT74
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
YUM!! This is absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as written with only one change: using 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, as suggested by other reviewers. That was a good call. The brown sugar gives the dish wonderful flavor. I used Red Delicious apples, only because I happened to have them laying around. They worked fine- definitely a little sweeter than the dish would have been with green apples, but not overpoweringly so. The Apple Betty smells amazing while baking and tastes even better once it's finished. My husband and I polished off the whole thing between the two of us, I'm a little embarassed to say. I might not make this again soon just to spare our waistlines, but that would be the only reason. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States