Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I don't think I used enough apples as there was too much streusel on top. Also, I used about half the amount of orange juice as it looked like it was getting too soupy. It ended up with the right texture but just not enough apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Super Yummy! I'm allergic to oatmeal and need a crunch on top of my apples - made it with Gravenstein's ...I'll make this any day over a pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizy7155

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Quick and easy and so yummy. I probably cut the apples a little thin because the apples were very mushy but the taste was still very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GVB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Allendale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
AWESOME...NEEDS MORE APPLES OR LESS STRUESAL THOUGH. USE HALF BROWN SUGAR AND HALF WHITE SUGAR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mishicot, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
absolutely wonderful! my husband raved about it. we had grapefruit juice on hand so i used it instead of orange juice. we left the peels on the apples for a little extra tartness and because i was short on time! we will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I made this for a family get together and everyone raved about it. I served it with a scoop of good vanilla ice cream, and the creaminess of the ice cream with the sweet, crumbly topping was out of this world. It was easy as pie to make, too. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was SO good! I have never made an apple dessert in my life, but I was adventurous enough to make it yesterday for a dinner party and everyone LOVED it. It was all gone in minutes! I took some reviewers' advice and reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup, used half brown and half white, and baked it for an hour. For those who have complained about it being too soggy, they should check the kind of apples that they have used. I used Golden Delicious, but I think Granny Smith or Cortland or Empire would have been good too. And I didn't slice them too thin. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was good, but I wish I had read the reviews before I made it, because the many tips about using brown sugar would have made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This dish turned out so yummy! I substituted half of the sugar for dark brown sugar and increased the baking time by 10 minutes. I also used an 8x8 square baking dish instead of the pie plate. Thanks for the recipe and all the helpful tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifaery

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This didn't turn out quite like I thought it would, but my fiancee loved it. It tasted a little more toffee-ish than apple betty-ish but it was so easy to make. Will definitely have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States