Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good but a bit too sweet - perfect with vanilla ice cream on top. I used half/half brown and white sugar (might cut down the white next time to a 1/4 cup) and added 1/4 cup quick oats for texture. I also baked in a square 8x8 stoneware pan and the consistency was perfect - it lifted right out of the pan without falling apart. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Followed recipe exactly and added 1/8 tablespoon of ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Simple and delish! We topped French Vanilla Ice Cream with this and it was awesome! Just tossed the ingredients together and popped it in the oven as we were sitting down for dinner. It was out of the oven by the time we were done eating and cooled by the time we were done cleaning up. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I don't think I used enough apples as there was too much streusel on top. Also, I used about half the amount of orange juice as it looked like it was getting too soupy. It ended up with the right texture but just not enough apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Super Yummy! I'm allergic to oatmeal and need a crunch on top of my apples - made it with Gravenstein's ...I'll make this any day over a pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizy7155

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Quick and easy and so yummy. I probably cut the apples a little thin because the apples were very mushy but the taste was still very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GVB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Allendale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
AWESOME...NEEDS MORE APPLES OR LESS STRUESAL THOUGH. USE HALF BROWN SUGAR AND HALF WHITE SUGAR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mishicot, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
absolutely wonderful! my husband raved about it. we had grapefruit juice on hand so i used it instead of orange juice. we left the peels on the apples for a little extra tartness and because i was short on time! we will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I made this for a family get together and everyone raved about it. I served it with a scoop of good vanilla ice cream, and the creaminess of the ice cream with the sweet, crumbly topping was out of this world. It was easy as pie to make, too. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was SO good! I have never made an apple dessert in my life, but I was adventurous enough to make it yesterday for a dinner party and everyone LOVED it. It was all gone in minutes! I took some reviewers' advice and reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup, used half brown and half white, and baked it for an hour. For those who have complained about it being too soggy, they should check the kind of apples that they have used. I used Golden Delicious, but I think Granny Smith or Cortland or Empire would have been good too. And I didn't slice them too thin. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States