Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Delicious!! I made this today and after reading some of the reviews, I did used the 1/2 white/brown sugar ratio. It came out so good. I also cooked for and extra 15 minutes and peeled my apples. My husband is very, very happy!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Delicious!!! but did cut back on the sugar - a dab of vanilla ice cream and we were happy and completely satisfied! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
WOW!! So good. I didn't have oranges to make juice but added fresh lemon juice instead and did what most folks mentioned did 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugars. It was really yummy. I'll be making it again now that apple season is here ripe and ready. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
It was a very satisfying treat. I just cut back on the sugar and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Easy and delicious. Followed suggestion of 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Would cover it at the end next time to prevent from over browning. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I have been using this same recipe for over60 years. Sometimes I make larger amounts sometimes just the smaller 8"-9" size. I always peel the apples and instead of measuring the apples I just fill the baking dish or pan nice and full and sprinkle with some cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg.. No more than 1/4 cup Orange juice.No need to soak the apples first in orange juice. They are supposed to turn brownish when they absorb the juices. I usually double the topping and just pack it on. You can refrigerate or freeze any unbaked topping for later use. I cook at the same temperature and when I see the juices bubbling up in spots through the topping I know it is done but test with a paring knife to be sure. Sometimes takes longer than 45 minutes. Oh and be sure to put a tray underneath in case it bubbles over a little too much. I got the recipe from my Mom in 1950's and use it often especially in fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Everyone loves it. I make it often. Excellent dessert for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Pearson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This recipe is from a 1960s era Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook and I think it's true that when you use an older recipe it just tastes better. This is definitely a "comfort" dessert and tastes great. It has just the right amount of sweetness and the crumbly topping is soooo good, crunchy yet chewy, really yummy. It's best to use a flavorful apple such as Granny Smith or Macintosh but I'm sure any variety will work fine. I've been making this for years (since the 60's) and it's amazing every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Better than apple pie (in my humble opinion). So easy and quick to make. No pie crust to mess with, but so amazingly delicious. Serve it warm with vanilla ice cream (just like pie ala mode). This is my "go to" quick to make dessert whether having company over or going to a friend's house for dinner and bringing the dessert. Never anything left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We really liked this, I used lemon juice instead of orange because that's what I had and it's really just to keep the apples from turning brown - that said I would use a bit less next time even if I had oj. I will make this again trying 1/2 brown sugar and a dash of cloves and/or allspice. It was good as written but I think those changes would make it great. Next time I will put foil under the pie plate to catch the drips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States