Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Easy and soooo good. I always get rave reviews when I make this dish. Don't slice the apples too thin though or they end up too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
super delicious. This tastes mighty fine. And so easy to make too. (ps substitute some brown sugar for the white and it will taste even better.) Still the best recipie around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I have fixed this recipe a couple of times and everyone loves it. The only thing different I used 1/4 C.less sugar and used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar.Also added 15 min. baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
EXCELLENT!!! i used a Cuisinart to slice those apples simply, uniform, and thin... it also whips up the crumbly topping nicely. I used 1/2 C brown sugar and 1/4 white. I added 1/2 t vanilla to the oj before pouring it over apples SO EASY, SO GOOD!!! I'll make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This recipe was a last minute find and what a find! I made it for my church choir's annual "Welcome Back From Summer Break" picnic and it received many, many compliments. To those of you who advised doing the sugar as 1/2 white and 1/2 brown, thanks! The advise was well taken. Like many here, I also doubled the recipe and added a cup of raisins to the apple mixture (I like raisins!). The addition made for a very flavorful touch. Thanks for the recipe, Barbara! It is definetly going into the Recipe Box! -MEB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mebyrne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camillus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
OMG brilliant. I followed some of the other review recommendation and did half brown half white sugar and it was absolutley fantastic. My fiance and i just couldn't help ourselves and ate it all out of the pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sah Bear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomastown, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
AMAZING! I peeled the apples first, doubled the recipe to make two, and used half white and half brown sugar. My husband could not get enough, it was great and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I wanted to try a recipe for an antique "brown betty" baking dish I got for a gift. This is quite good. I made it twice. Both times using half brown sugar. The second time I added 1/8 tsp. clove as I like the spice. A hit both times. I like serving it with half and half. It adds the dairy element without the extra sugar. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHNICKELFRITZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I'm not giving this recipe a terrible rating because I'm sure I must've done something wrong to get the results I did. Okay flavor, really BAD presentation. I tried to about double everything - put the apples in the orange juice as I was slicing them so they wouldn't brown. Either I used too much orange juice (I only used a little over 1/3 cup) or having the apples in it caused them to release water while cooking because when I pulled this out of the oven it was SWIMMING in buttery water. I kid you not - rocking the pan from side to side make it look like the apples were floating on top of water. The topping had all melted and pretty much disintegrated in the water and it was just . . . ugly. And REALLY REALLY sweet. I even drained the watery part and just gave husband the apples and ice cream and he only ate about three bites. I'll probably try a different recipe next time since I couldn't make this one work. Sorry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
Tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States