Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
What a great easy alternative to making a full pie! Would probably use less sugar next time as we found it a bit too sweet. Thanks for the other recommendations for using 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar...I will try 1/2 cup white and 1/3 cup brown next time. Maybe a bit more cinnamon as well. Two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was excellent exactly as given. The topping is out of this world. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is a five for sure! I use about 6 gala apples and I don't peel them, which I thought would be bad at first but it's not at all (I didn't have a good peeler but I bought one so I'll try it now) I use brown and white sugar like the reviews say and make sure you use REAL butter! I mix the topping together so it will carmalize and put the rest on top so it will make the crust hard. It's a huge hit and I serve it will Blue Bell Homeade Vanilla ice cream on top! Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaBarrios

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My family ate the whole pan in one sitting! Its amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jlabbe87
Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This is the best and one of the easiest apple desserts ever. The only change was I used brown suger (3/4 cup) because apples and brown sugar just go together. Otherwise everything was the same. Really couldn't understand some other reviews about it being to watery etc. I do believe it has to do with the apples and my favorite is the Granny Smith. I used 3 1/2 lbs of apples. Great, Great, Great!!! Sharyn from Maui
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Wailuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Made with peaches and put in a cast iron skillet. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sing1015

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
A little messy since it didnt have a crust but I didnt care because it tasted awesome :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is a very good base for Apple Betty, and with some minor adjustments it is a winner. First thing is I cook the apples (granny smith) on med high heat with a little orange juice, 2tblspoons of water, cinnamon, organic evaporated cane sugar (1/8 cup) and vanilla extract (1/2 tsp) for about 10 minutes (less time if you like your apples firm). Then I add the apples into the baking dish and spread the flour mix crumble over the top if it. I melt about 1/4 cup of butter and pour over the top and then bake...when there is about 10-12 minutes left I add crushed pecans over the top then finish baking. Talk about delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very easy recipe to use up apples before they go bad! Just make sure to use baking apples, otherwise it will get mushy. I used half brown sugar because my husband LOVES his brown sugar, and added in a few rolled oats for a crunchier texture. The recipe was very tasty and much easier than an apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States