Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This pie, according to my husband, is awesome. The apples really do help smooth the texture. I didn't have any tapioca, so I added about a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken the berry/apple mixture. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Madelyn
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this pie. This is by far the best pie I have ever made!! Your berries should be naturally sweet or they can taste tart in the pie....still good. I add a little extra cinnamon and some vanilla. It is perfect. Look forward to baking this many more times. ps....I also use the Best Ever Pie Crust, it is so easy and fast to make. I use half butter half shortening for the dough and it is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Excellent! After making a Blackberry pie, I had a couple of cups of berries left over and tried this recipe, it was way better than the blackberry-only pie-perfect texture and very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I come from a family of blackberry pie fans! Grew up picking them every year in anticipation of the great pies mom would make. My son likes blackberry pies, but not all the seeds. Many people feel the same way-if this describes you, then this is the perfect recipe. You can hardly taste the apples, they just give a little extra texture. We all loved this. I made a few for the freezer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Absolutely delicious!! Wonderful to find a pie recipe using blackberries! Everyone gobbled this pie up in no time! yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
The description says it all! The apple and blackberry flavors blend together well. My regular blackberry pie is always too seedy; the apples help make the pie more smooth. I will most likely make a few more pies to refreeze so I can enjoy the fresh taste of summer in the middle of a Chicago winter! The only change I will make is to thicken up the juice; my pie turned out a little runnier than I like. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was really good & easy to make! I used raspberry instead and Granny apples. I didn't have tapioca, so after the fruits soaked in the sugar, then the leftover juice in the bowl was mixed with a little cornstarch powder to thicken. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Love this recipe. I chop the apple slices into thirds so the apple kind of gets lost in with the blackberries. Nice not to have as many seeds as traditional blackberry pie. I use 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar just personal preference. I have been asked for the recipe by several friends so I'd say it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Mountain Gourmet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
The blackberries do dominate the flavor of this pie-- a good thing if you love blackberries. Made this with Splenda Mix and you couldn't tell the difference. Everyone loved it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
YUM! An excellent combination - why haven't I heard of this before? This was on the sweet side of pie, although both my apples and blackberries were very ripe... I think next time (there definitely will be next times!) I might cut it down a tablespoon or two; I think that would go better with ice cream :) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States