Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
When I read all the great reviews, I thought, "What's the big deal? The ingredients are so basic?" Well, let me tell you, this pie was fantastic!! Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Made 3 times varying ratio of apple to berries. Great every time. I used small tapioca first time and maybe didn't let it sit long enough but still good. The large tapioca, let sit, and good to go. I too had alot of juice so I added an extra shake of tapioca. I used different pastry recipes and everything from pie pans to 9x13 with no problems and RAVE REVIEWS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
after reading the reviews (several staing the berries dominate the flavor) i did it with 1 cup of berries instead more apple the flavor was more balanced this way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I've used the same recipe for years. My family loves it. I substitute raspberries for the blackberries and it's still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: De Graff, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Really great american favorite! I made this twice already but with fresh cranberries. There is something about cranberries and apples that my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This turned out real good. I like the apples with the berries and more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by TAMAREE
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Definitely better than an all blackberry pie, since it's less seedy. My family gave it 5 stars and my son doesn't even like pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMAREE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I used this recipe as is, except for the size. I increased by 1.5 to make a 9X13" cobbler with it. It was great, everyone loved it. I fixed the fruit mixture the night before so I could bake it quickly in the morning. It was very juicy, so I did add a sprinkle more of the tapioca, being afraid that sitting so long might cause it to be juicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I had a bag full of peach and apple slices left over from a wedding shower and wanted to make a pie. I used this recipe and it turned out great. My hubby just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Fantastic! A great tasting pie. I made some very minor modifications though. I used a little lemon juice on the apples to keep them from browning after cut. Instead of on 1 C sugar, I used 1 C Splenda and 1/2 C sugar and put in some cinnamon as well. I actually forgot to add the butter pats before putting on the top crust- I don't care because it was still great! To top off the pie I brushed the crust with water and sprinkled sugar atop the pie. I did cover the crust the first 20 min to reduce the browness of the edges. The filling was nice and thick and juices weren't running everywhere when you cut a piece. Having the apples in the recipe definately reduced having all the blackberry seeds in one bite which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States