Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Great recipe. I probably would decrease the sugar a little next time. I used granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Yum! I wasn't sure about the apples and blackberries together, but there were so many great reviews, and I had blackberries frozen from last summer, so I decided to give it try. WOW! what a wonderful combination. Only a few changes. I added some lemon juice to the apples, and I used more like 3 cups of apples. When I put it into the crust it still looked like it could use more filling. Next time (and there will definately be a next time) I'll maybe add another cup of blackberries as well, and up the other inqr. accordingly. My husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I think this is the absolute bomb. The only thing I added is one teaspoon vanilla, and put a cobbler crust on top (plain cake mix with drizzeled butter. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and got told I would be making it for Christmas as well! My mother-in-law who cooks much more than me also wanted the recipe. Works well with blueberries also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rstockhorst
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
SOOOO good I could have licked the plate. I made this just as the recipe calls for. However, I did add one more tsp of tapioca per other reviewers. It did not seem to help. It was really juicy turned out to be more like a cobbler than a pie. Even so it was REALLY good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Just the smell of it baking was satisfaction enough. But to have it taste great too was heaven. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Overton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is an excellent pie! My boyfriend went back for a second slice 10 minutes after the first so it must have been good! I made it exactly as written. I used Granny Smith apples and felt that the amount of sugar was just right. If you use sweeter apples you might want to reduce it a bit. I used the all butter pie crust at elise.com which is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was really good & easy to make! I used raspberry instead and Granny apples. I didn't have tapioca, so after the fruits soaked in the sugar, then the leftover juice in the bowl was mixed with a little cornstarch powder to thicken. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Fantastic pie! I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top of the pie crust and served with ice cream. This pie is defintely going to be part of many Thanksgivings to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
When I read all the great reviews, I thought, "What's the big deal? The ingredients are so basic?" Well, let me tell you, this pie was fantastic!! Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States