Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I won't be makin a plain blackberry pie again! Great recipe! I doubled the recipe, put a top and bottom crust in a 13x9 pan and used frozen blackberries. The blackberry and apple combination is excellent. I took it to a family reunion and every last bite was devoured. I sprinkled the top of the crust with a cinnamon/sugar mixture too. Can't wait to make it with fresh blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Madelyn
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this pie. This is by far the best pie I have ever made!! Your berries should be naturally sweet or they can taste tart in the pie....still good. I add a little extra cinnamon and some vanilla. It is perfect. Look forward to baking this many more times. ps....I also use the Best Ever Pie Crust, it is so easy and fast to make. I use half butter half shortening for the dough and it is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This pie, according to my husband, is awesome. The apples really do help smooth the texture. I didn't have any tapioca, so I added about a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken the berry/apple mixture. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Awesome pie! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Great recipe. I probably would decrease the sugar a little next time. I used granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Yum! I wasn't sure about the apples and blackberries together, but there were so many great reviews, and I had blackberries frozen from last summer, so I decided to give it try. WOW! what a wonderful combination. Only a few changes. I added some lemon juice to the apples, and I used more like 3 cups of apples. When I put it into the crust it still looked like it could use more filling. Next time (and there will definately be a next time) I'll maybe add another cup of blackberries as well, and up the other inqr. accordingly. My husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I think this is the absolute bomb. The only thing I added is one teaspoon vanilla, and put a cobbler crust on top (plain cake mix with drizzeled butter. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and got told I would be making it for Christmas as well! My mother-in-law who cooks much more than me also wanted the recipe. Works well with blueberries also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rstockhorst
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
SOOOO good I could have licked the plate. I made this just as the recipe calls for. However, I did add one more tsp of tapioca per other reviewers. It did not seem to help. It was really juicy turned out to be more like a cobbler than a pie. Even so it was REALLY good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Just the smell of it baking was satisfaction enough. But to have it taste great too was heaven. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Overton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States