Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The flavor was top notch, so very lovely! It was a nice change from the usual apple pie (which I super duper love anyway) but had a specialness about it. Was very watery, though, and was better served with a spoon than a pie server - ha! Will try to thicken it up a tad next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Deliciously wonderful! I actually did a crumb topping instead of 2 pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Good, made it with raspberries instead of blackberries. Nice, tart flavour -- I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Turned out great! Substituted 1 1/2 tablespoons for the tapioca, added a pinch of nutmeg, used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 brown, and used mulberries instead of blackberries... so I guess I ended up with a completely different pie than the recipe! But oh, it was soooo good... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This pie is awesome! I used blueberries instead of the blackberries and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
A little too tart for what I'm used to in an apple pie. Next time I think I would try to use a sweeter berry, and probably one without seeds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekramer86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Mine came out super runny. Next time I'd lessen the sugar and possibly add more tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Very easy recipe! I love how the apples tame down the blackberries so the pie isn't too tart. This one was a hit with the mother-in-law, she even asked for the recipe! I didn't have tapioca so I just used 1 tbsp corn starch. I wiped egg whites on the crust and sprinkled with sugar. Great presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I am a horrible pie maker but this one came out perfect!! Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Loved this pie! Very easy to make. I used the Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust recipe and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States