Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Great tasting pie. Tapioca was increased to prevent a runny pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I used this recipe for the first pie I ever made and my family LOVED IT! I used the called for amount of blackberries and maybe a little more than the 2 cups of apples. I ended up using two Granny Smith apples and two Gala apples to add a little more sweetness to the pie, and I didn't have tapioca, so I used cornstarch instead. I also used a few drops of lemon juice on my apples to keep them from browning up before they got to baking, and tossed in a pinch of nutmeg. Since I don't believe in bothering with making my own crusts yet, I used the Pilsbury Pie Crusts from my grocery store's refridgerator section. I can't believe how well this pie turned out!!! It wasn't runny at all! The only thing I'm changing for next time is a few more slices of apple. SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This pie is amazingly delicious. It's so much better than a blackberry or apple pie. Absolutely a recipe I'll use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Awesome! I didn't have tapioca so I used 1 tbs flour and 1 tbs corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Family loved it. Tart and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeport, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This recipe blends the apple and berry flavors wonderfully. I did use an extra cup of blackberries as the filling looked like a small amount for a 9 inch pie. The recipe is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious! I combined this with the Blackberry Cobbler II recipe without the tapioca to make a fantastic apple blackberry cobbler. Used gluten free all purpose flour. I am way too lazy to make gluten free pie crust from scratch so cobbler was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Great flavor and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Wow! This is one of the best fruit pies my family has tasted! Three of us managed to eat 3/4th of the pie after a lasagna dinner. The only problem is it is so delicious it is hard to stop! I can't wait for a chilled slice as breakfast! The only changes I made were doubling the cinnamon, adding 1/2 tsp of vanilla, and using 2 Tablespoons of tapioca. I also used 3 1/2 cups of apples, as that was how much I had after slicing 2 apples in the food processor. I am glad I added the extra fruit, as the filling barely filled the dish. This has now tied for the title of favorite pie (Cranberry Apple Pie I from this site is the other winner). I'll be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States