Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe! Just the right combination of blackberries and apples. This will definitely become a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Simple, easy, and delicious. No fail dessert sure to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Being a NEW baker, I made this pie and loved it. I used a deep dish pie plate so the 2 cups of apples and berries is not nearly enough. So I increased the amount of apples from 2 cups to 4 heaping cups and berries from 2 cups to 3 heaping cups which made it more full to my liking. I increased the cooking time another 15+ minutes......could have gone a little more. I also increased the cinnamon and sugar some but not alot because the apples (Granny) and Berries give alot of flavor anyway. I took one persons advise of adding 1 tablespoon of Cornstarch. I think next time I will try 2 tablespoons....especially because I use more apples and berries. Great tasting though and will make again for sure......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
SO good! This has been a hit every time I've made it - I prefer raspberries to blackberries, and I like the sweetness of Gala apples the best. Also, I've never used tapioca so I just substituted flour as that's what I had around the house, and I think it turned out great! Overall a fantastic pie and I've gotten so many compliments on it. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used a frozen store crust, frozen blackberries and fresh granny smith apples (only needed 2 big ones). I brushed some egg white on the top crust and sprinkled some sugar on top before baking. This pie looked like it came out of a magazine...and got rave reviews on taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Loved the fruiat combo! Made with a flaky butter crust and this may be the new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was very good. I used a deep dish pie plate and wished I'd put more fruit in the filling. Also, the recipe didn't specify what type of apples to use(baking, tart or other). I used sweet eating apples, thinking the blackberries might be a little sour. I think it might have a little more flavor that way. I used 3/4 tsp. of cinnamon and a little nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wow! Not only did this pie TASTE delicious,. but it looked b-e-a-u-t-i-f--u-l-! I did change a couple of things though. Instead of "fresh blackberries" I added frozen blueberries, frozen raspberries and a package called "frozen mixed berries" including blackberries, raspberries, and a couple other berries. I used a pre-made crust from Mrs. Smith's. I came out flaky which was nice and I also did NOT add a top covering layer of dough. I also purposely smushed some of the berries and it added a nice smooth yet crunchy kind of texture. The apples were a nice touch.. I used 2 whole ones, not peeled instead of 2 cups, peeled, cored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was good, but not great. I enjoyed it but would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Greivel Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
make sure to serve with some ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States