Apple, Beet and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I cooked the beets on the pressure cooker, used balsamic and red wine vinegar, used toasted pecans instead of walnuts and everybody loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very tasty. Good without the avocado as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I loved this! I used fresh orange and red beets which added beautiful color. The dressing was fabulous-- it turned a bright red from soaking the beets in it. I made enough for 3 days and just stored the dressing and beets separately. It wasn't difficult to cook the beets at all. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this salad 2 Rosh Hashanas in a row. I tweak the recipe a bit, adding pomegranate seeds on top as well as avocado slices. I set it up on each plate, which looks very impressive, but is also rather time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Great combination of flavors and textures! I used a Granny Smith apple, and the crisp tartness was a nice complement to the beets. My friend and I both agreed it needed a little something else, and decided some crumbled blue cheese would be perfect. I'll do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe was a perfect Thanksgiving starter salad although it was more filling than I intended! I did make a few changes on the dressing. I boiled about a cup and a half of the cider until it had reduced to 3/4c to intensify the flavor. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and I increased the vinegar to 3/4c. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I definitely modified the recipe to what I had on hand. I made the dressing out of red wine vinegar, balsamic vinegar, honey, oil, mustard, celery seed, salt and pepper. I also didn't have any salad greens. I toasted up some sliced almonds and added some Boursin cheese. Turned out delish. I know it totally veered away from the recipe but the beet/apply/avocado/onion mixture was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was really good but I thought something was missing. I added some goat cheese and it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Alright, the vinaigrette is good, wasn't crazy about it. The best part was the beets after they'd marinated in the vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I was initally very hesitant about this recipe, as I have had terrible luck with making vinaigrette dressings---but this recipe was delicious! My friends and I loved it---will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States