Apple Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
These flavors are wonderful together. The second time I tried it I used crumbled bleu cheese instead of dressing and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This recipe was really good. I would make one change in the future I cut the dressing down to half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
In fairness let me say that a) I don't like beets (I was trying to use up some canned beets I tried feeding to my son) and b) I used a bacon ranch dressing which I don't recommend. If you like beets and use a regular ranch dressing I bet you will like this. But I also didn't care for the soft beets intertwined with the crunchy nuts and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I LOVE BEETS! But I didn't like this recipe. I used a half cup of Honey Dijon salad dressing and maybe it wasn't thick enough. Also, I didn't really like the combination of crunchy with the soft beets.... and I didn't like that my apples turned pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I made this a while back "my way" and it was delicious (see review, below). Last week, I made it according to the recipe as presented (using sliced Harvard beets which I halved and Miracle Whip as the "creamy dressing") and it was excellent. ************* First review: I LOVE beets. So I made this (kind of) last night for lunch today. I say kind of because, instead of fresh apples, I used 4 heaping Tbsp. of unsweetened Applesauce to coat the beets (mine were sliced, rather than diced) and instead of "creamy salad dressing", I used my own buttermilk/sour cream based dressing. I also included a handful of sliced yellow onion and a handful of sliced green grapes. To my mind, the walnuts (I used pre-packaged, chopped) "made" the dish. I think this is a REAL KEEPER -- especially if allowed to chill and "meld" for at least 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
My husband gave this rating and I agreed with him. Kind of like a waldorf salad, but purplish after it sits overnight in the frig! I used fresh beets that I cooked myself instead of canned ones. Next time I will try the blue cheese addition as another viewer suggested because we love that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I have been making beet salad for years but have never put the apples or walnuts in it....instead of overpowering the taste of the beets with a dressing, I use just a small amount of mayo with garlic, and onion powder.....great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKER04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This salad was a hit at Mother's Day. We found it refreshing and a perfect side to the grilled chicken. We used just enough vinaigrette dressing to coat to give this a pickled flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinagain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I LOVED this salad! I don't care for beets but am trying to add them to my diet. This was a great choice. It's just like a Waldorf salad (sub the beets for the celery). I used green apples for more color. My family and guests really liked this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Im only giving it 2 stars because this recipe is way better with plain yogurt instead of the mayo. Way healthier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States