Apple Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
These flavors are wonderful together. The second time I tried it I used crumbled bleu cheese instead of dressing and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This recipe was really good. I would make one change in the future I cut the dressing down to half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
In fairness let me say that a) I don't like beets (I was trying to use up some canned beets I tried feeding to my son) and b) I used a bacon ranch dressing which I don't recommend. If you like beets and use a regular ranch dressing I bet you will like this. But I also didn't care for the soft beets intertwined with the crunchy nuts and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I LOVE BEETS! But I didn't like this recipe. I used a half cup of Honey Dijon salad dressing and maybe it wasn't thick enough. Also, I didn't really like the combination of crunchy with the soft beets.... and I didn't like that my apples turned pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I made this a while back "my way" and it was delicious (see review, below). Last week, I made it according to the recipe as presented (using sliced Harvard beets which I halved and Miracle Whip as the "creamy dressing") and it was excellent. ************* First review: I LOVE beets. So I made this (kind of) last night for lunch today. I say kind of because, instead of fresh apples, I used 4 heaping Tbsp. of unsweetened Applesauce to coat the beets (mine were sliced, rather than diced) and instead of "creamy salad dressing", I used my own buttermilk/sour cream based dressing. I also included a handful of sliced yellow onion and a handful of sliced green grapes. To my mind, the walnuts (I used pre-packaged, chopped) "made" the dish. I think this is a REAL KEEPER -- especially if allowed to chill and "meld" for at least 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
My husband gave this rating and I agreed with him. Kind of like a waldorf salad, but purplish after it sits overnight in the frig! I used fresh beets that I cooked myself instead of canned ones. Next time I will try the blue cheese addition as another viewer suggested because we love that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I have been making beet salad for years but have never put the apples or walnuts in it....instead of overpowering the taste of the beets with a dressing, I use just a small amount of mayo with garlic, and onion powder.....great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKER04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This salad was a hit at Mother's Day. We found it refreshing and a perfect side to the grilled chicken. We used just enough vinaigrette dressing to coat to give this a pickled flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinagain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I LOVED this salad! I don't care for beets but am trying to add them to my diet. This was a great choice. It's just like a Waldorf salad (sub the beets for the celery). I used green apples for more color. My family and guests really liked this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Im only giving it 2 stars because this recipe is way better with plain yogurt instead of the mayo. Way healthier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States