Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Rory
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
ok, this is awesome, however i didn't follow the recipe as written, because i still don't know how to cut the almonds, so i used pecans, and i used three times the cinnamon specified, i made this for mothers day because mom and i love cinnamon, it was a total success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rory

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Super yum! After reading people got crunchy results with their apples I decided to peel, slice and cook my apples in some water before I used them in the recipe. I cooked the apples until they were soft but not mushy, then I let them drain in a colander. Once they were very drained, I added the sugar and the cinnamon. This turned out really, really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
fantastic result with a very easy recipe, ready in a flash. I must admit I was skeptical about the crust (afraid it would be crumbly and dry), but how wrong I was! and the apples were nicely caramelized... all in all, this is a great discovery and I will keep it for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was very good. Will definitely make it again. My husband and I both enjoyed it. It is rich, but not too sweet. Next time, I think I will follow some of the others and cook the apples a little, since the torte was a little difficult to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Excellent! I used pears because we had an abundant amount, and I made sure to simmer them down with the cinnamon and sugar.. prior to assembling. When you simmer them for about 10 minutes, it gives off a lot of the liquid. Just be sure to use a spatula/spoon that strains the liquid, when you begin to place them on the torte. I decreased the sugar in each layer by half, and it still was plenty (although, I like things not so sweet!). :) I pre-baked the crust for 5 minutes, allowed to cool, and then topped with the cheese mixture and apples(pears). Even so, the crust was still very soft - so if you prefer a crisper crust, you may want to pre-bake it longer. This is such a pretty dessert, easy to make, and delicious to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very good. Cook apples &^ pears 3 mins in microwave. Pour syrup over top of torte. Use a little less sugar and butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
really good, I bake at 375 instead of 450. I also cooked apples in the microwave for 3 minutes and covered with foil. Apples came out juicy, not dried out at all. will make again, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. Our family does not use cane sugar so I used granulated palm sugar instead. The crust is buttery and oh so yummy. This is a recipe I will make time and time again, looks like a dessert from a restaurant. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is delicious! I cooked it a tad bit too much, while trying to get the almonds to look toasted. Maybe that's why it fell apart a little. I will most definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
The flavors in this pie are very complimentary. Will definitely make this again. Didn't make any changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States