Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Not oonly did this taste delicious but it looked like a professional baked it. My Aunt Eleni said on a scale of 1-10 this was a 13 and insisted we take a photograph of it! The only sub I made was to use almond extract in place of the vanilla which I love and enhanced the almond flavor on top. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
AWESOME! Huge hit at my Bunco party! I did increase the cream cheese to 12 oz like others had suggested and used 2 kinds of apples; Granny Smith's and Washington reds. Will most definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
GREAT RECIPE and so easy!! I made two and tried different things with each and my recommendations are: 1) Resist urge to add extra moisture to the crumb mixture. Just press firmly into tin and rely on the juice from the cooking apples to bring it together. 2) Brown sugar works well as a substitute. 3) If you like cinnamon, double it. 4) Def follow others' tips and cook the apples for 3min in microwave first! 5) Pour leftover juice from apples as they cooked in microwave/cinnamon/sugar over torte once you have put the almonds on. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
The finished product is beautiful and tasty. I'm only giving it 4 stars b/c if I had not taken the advice of other reviewers and pre-cooked the apples we would have been really disappointed by crunchy apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This is a beautiful presenting dessert and it tastes wonderful. I did make a few changes to the recipe. After reading the review I followed their advise and I microwaved my apples for 3 minutes after tossing them with the sugar and cinnamon. I also only used 4 tart apples instead of 6. Microwaving them did create extra juice in the bottom of the bowl so I spooned them onto the filling leaving the juice in the bow. I also increased the filling by using 12 oz of cream cheese, 2 extra TBSP of sugar and 2 eggs. I used almond extract instead of vanilla throughout the recipe. I also added dried lemon peel to the apples and the crust. I baked it an extra 5 minutes at 450 degrees. I didn't have sliced almonds so I sprinkled chopped almonds on top and baked about 5 more minutes. My family was very happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I would have given 10 stars if possible. Great! After reading the reviews, I did precook my apples just a bit on the stove and pre-baked my crust for a few minutes. It came out fabulous! I used Granny Smith apples. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I found this recipe in a magazine at least 30 years ago--wish I could remember the magazine, but I do remember it wasn't a culinary magazine. However, this has been my go-to company dessert recipe for years. It is absolutely delicious and always turns out perfectly beautiful. I've always used Yellow Delicious apples. I also press the dough 2 inches up the side of the springform pan--looks like it was made in a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is a "kill" recipe that I've been baking for 20+ years also. However, my version is to top the torte with apple slices dipped in cinnamon-sugar mix and then starting with the outside edge working in, place the slices in a circular pattern with the slices barely over-lapping. Warm in microwave about 2/3 cup apricot preserves. Gently spoon onto the apple slices and spred covering the entire top. Bake as directed-YUM!!!! Very pretty and looks like an european pastry. I'm sure adding almond slivers before the apricot preserves would add to the look and taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was really good! I cut back on the apples as suggested by others (I used 4) and I cooked them for 3 mins, at 1 min intervals, on high, stirring after every min. Turned out great! We served it with home made vanilla ice cream, and it was fantastic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I tried to follow recipe as closely as I could except for some additions: -Added 1/4 tsp almond extract to both mixtures. - precooked apples as others suggested (and let me tell u, this was necessary!)in a skillet with a splash of water -Used red delicious applesand added less than 1/4 cups sugar to them. -Added a bit of milk to almondsbefore adding them to the top and sprinkled them with a bit of sugar on top of tart. Baked 10 minutes and then drizzled the top with the leftover liquid from the apples and returned to bake five more minutes to caramelize. TURNED OUT AMAZING!! i AM SURE IT WOULD HAVE TURNED OUT GREAT IF I HAD FOLLOWED RECIPE AS IS AS LONG AS I PRECOOK THE APPLES THOUGH! UPDATE: A couple days later, some of the guests that tried the tart admitted to loving the filling part, but still the topping was not that great. Still not caramelized and cooked through enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States