Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made this for Sunday night pot roast dinner. I LOVE THIS RECIPE. First of all, it was SO EASY. Second, it looked so PRETTY. Third, it tasted WONDERFUL! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used only 4 apples, and I microwaved the apples for 3 minutes. I will be making this often. Thanks much, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I've made this recipe a couple of times. I microwaved the apples for 3 minutes before cooking, as suggested. I also brush on 1 tablespoon of melted butter over the top so the apples brown nicely and don't dry out. Tastes delicious with almonds, but equally wonderful with pecans. Always a hit!! Don't hesitate to try this recipe! So easy and foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I have made this torte twice now and have gotten rave reviews from both groups I served it too. It was pretty easy but elegant dessert. Looked like I bought it at a bakery. Will keep this on the top shelf of all time favorite apple recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was yummy torte! Great for cream cheese lover!! The only thing I'd do differently the next time would be, precook apples or do something for the top... Apple on the top was kind of dried up by baking naked...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
5 star recipe for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I liked that this recipe sounded easy, with beautiful results. Well, it was easier than I expected. I followed the instructions, with the exception of cooking the apples in the mircowave for 3 minutes. I liked the way the photo looked and decided to layer it... from the bottom, to the top, I used crust, filling, apples, filling, and more apples (arranged in a circular pattern on top). We did not have the almonds, and so I decided on a cinnamon sugar sauce. YUM! Got rave reviews from everyone, and they were fighting over who got the last of it. This would be impressive enough for guests. Next time I may glaze it with my Cabernet Sauvignon jelly and use pears, instead of apples. Thank you, Terri, for a wonderful recipe. It will be in my holiday repertoire this season as everyone has already requested it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Very disappointed. I shoul've known when I opened the oven door to add the almonds this wasn't going well. Juice leaked from the springform pan & burnt. Then when I tried to remove from pan, after it cooled, the crust stuck to the bottom, & things fell apart when transferring to a plate. The crust is good & I could use that in other desserts. The filling leaves a bad taste in your mouth. It gave me a "flashback" to cheesecake, which I don't like. (very overpowering taste) The apples were hard & I did nuke in microwave, as suggested & even in small quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
OMG! What can I possibly say about this recipe that hasn't already been said - it's fabulous! I didn't change a thing except to leave off the almonds as my husband isn't a huge fan of them. It took a little longer to cook and the smell was divine. When it came out of the oven I couldn't resist topping it off with a warm caramel sauce - just a little. I must say the smell from the oven was definitely an indication of how it was going to taste. My husband devoured his piece and declared that I could make this anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Great recipe, me husband loved it. Definitely cook the apples some before assembling or else it is difficult to cut neatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States