Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I scaled it down for two portions and didn't use a springform pan. I also used blackberries instead of apples. I cooked them for a few minutes in water, sugar, and cinnamon before I topped the cream cheese mixture. I also left out the almonds. I am looking forward to trying this with different types of fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Pretty tasty. I only used three granny smith apples, but should have used at least one more. I doubled the cinnamon/sugar. I put the almonds on before baking, and they turned out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a wonderful not-to-sweet dessert (and breakfast item) that was easy to convert to a gluten free recipe. The only change was three large apples (2 Gala and 1 Golden Delicious) and baked in a 9 inch square pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
As others have mentioned, this is one of those desserts where it's super easy, presents beautifully, and the taste heavenly! But definitely precook the sliced apples in the microwave for 3 mins w/ the cinnamon and sugar. Also used 1/4 tsp vanilla & 1/4 tsp almond extract instead of the 1/2 tsp vanilla and only needed 3 big Granny Smith apples. *Either toast the almonds before-hand or closely watch the edges of the torte after adding the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
totally awesome! don't change anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was one of the most beautiful desserts I've ever pulled off. Only change made was a sprinkle of brown sugar over the top with the almonds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlyjane_25
Home Town: Sesser, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I too microwaved the apples for 3 mins. turning every minute. Then I did 2 layers of the filling...cream cheese, apples repeat. Smelled yummy and was very good. Really best served warm out of the oven. Bet it would be great with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by swolfe_2
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is one of the best recipes I've made! MAKE SURE YOU SLICE YOUR APPLES THIN ENOUGH, so that you don't have the same probs as the other readers. I only needed 3 large apples (the tartness of granny smith was perfect). Make sure you don't use anything bigger than a 9 in pan, or else the yummy crust is spread to thin. Don't worry about just dumping the almonds on the top and spreading them out, they turn out toasty and fabulous! This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swolfe_2
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great recipe. I increased cream cheese to 12 oz and added 1 TBS of lemon juice to it and only used 3 Granny Smith apples. I also lined the springform pan bottom with parchment paper and brushed the cooled torte with Apple Jelly. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Made this tonight and everyone loved it! it was easy to put together, ingredients on hand, looked so pretty. I did leave out the almonds because my children don't like nuts, but I didn't miss them at all! My SIl told me I should make this for christmas dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States