Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Good recipe, Terri. I've made this twice now. First according to the recipe: I like the crust, but there was a little too much of it for my taste, and I liked the filling which there was a little to little of it. I thought the apples being crunchy detracted from the overall flavor. So, the second time I cut the crust by 1/3, upped the filling by another 1/2, and precooked my apples in the cinnamon sugar in the microwave for 3 minutes. Then I arranged the apples in a circular pattern covering the entire top of the torte. While warm from the oven, I covered the top evenly with a cinnamon sugar sauce. Wow! What flavor, and the presentation was beautiful. The ladies at my Bunco party thought I had ordered it from their favorite bakery! Thanks for creating the roadmap that helped me reach my destination....AND keep up my reputation as the best cook in the group! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Not bad, but I would change the amounts slightly - 6 apples was too much compared to the amount of custardy cream cheese mix - I ended up with a thick layer of plain sliced apples on top. I'd make it with double the cream cheese mixture, and would add the apples first then pour the cream cheese mixture over top, so it will then settle down onto the crust. The recipe is also good with half pears, half apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I was excited to make this, and it was pretty easy to do,,but...The apples ended up not being done enough. I was leary about putting it back in the oven because I didn't wan't to over cook the rest of the torte. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISSAMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Delicious, authentic and wonderfull presentation. This one is definatly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This was awesome!! I am not quite sure how anyone could have a problem making it, it turned out great!! Its a great dessert, especially for people who dont like chocolate I would recommend it 100%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
My mom's been making this recipe for at least 10 years - at any and all occasions, it's dessert. Warning - it is VERY rich and you only need a little piece! Soo good, and yet so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This recipe is amazing! It's easy, looks amazing, and tastes incredible! I will definitely make this again. One of the best desserts I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Disappointment! The crust never became crust but was mushy. And the apple mixture has nothing to keep it together. When you remove the springform pan it falls over into one big mess. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Try peaches with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Presentation on this dish was easy and beautiful. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States